Research Tools: Images & Photographs

Provides access to still and moving images, as well as written and spoken words, sound recordings, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas. (Library of Congress)

Provides information about finding images and links to sources. (UH Manoa Library)

Includes millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. (Google)

Source for finding hundreds of thousands of images. (Luna Imaging, Inc.)

Source for aerial photographs related to Hawaii and the Pacific. (UH Manoa Library)

Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, and more. (The New York Public Library)

UHM login required. Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. Searchable resources include: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. (Oxford University Press)

Search over 4.6 million records with 445,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries. (Smithsonian Institution)

TinEye is a reverse image search engine. It finds out where an image came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or if there is a higher resolution version. (Idée Inc.)

Offers a compilation of teaching resources (text, images, video and multimedia) currently held by the University of Hawaii. (University of Hawaii)

A cooperative project of the Library of Congress, the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), and partner libraries, archives, and educational and cultural institutions from the United States and around the world. The project brings together rare and unique documents - books, journals, manuscripts, maps, prints and photographs, films, and sound recordings - that tell the story of the world's cultures. (Library of Congress)

Offers millions of images. (Yahoo!)