Research Tools: Statistical Data - US

Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. (U.S. Census Bureau)

A comprehensive look at wealth, poverty and the financial security of families in the U.S. The Scorecard assesses the 50 states and the District of Columbia on how well residents are faring and what states can do to help residents build and protect assets. Between 1987 and 2007, CFED produced the Development Report Card to provide a comparative assessment of each state's business climate. (CFED)

Provides health statistics on a variety of topics including birth and death vital statistics.

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics is a working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families. The Forum has partners from 22 Federal agencies as well as partners in private research organizations. (Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics)

Provides profiles of American cities incorporating many kinds of data and photos. (Advameg, Inc.)

Access to reports, analytical studies, briefs, reviews, background papers, and other publications related to the Federal budget process and the national economy.

Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. Includes links to statistics from more than 100 Federal agencies with access by topic, geography, agency by name, agency by subject; plus additional information. (Fedstats)

The Gallup organization polls public opinion on current political, economic, and social issues. (Gallup, Inc.)

Tool for examining state and county topics for individual census years and over time, and for generating maps of selected data. The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing. (University of Virginia Library)

Provides information of interest to people moving to another city. Includes salary, city, cost of living, and school data. (Move)

The Office of Policy Development and Research performs policy analysis, research, surveys, studies, and evaluations to provide current information on housing needs, market conditions, and HUD programs, as well as research on important housing and community development issues. (U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development)

Statistics on energy production, consumption, and trade; cost of fuels to end users; energy consumption per dollar of gross domestic product; motor vehicle mileage, degree-days; and carbon dioxide emissions. Links to Annual Energy Review, State Energy Data System, International Energy Statistics, International Petroleum Monthly, Short-Term Energy Outlook, Annual Energy Outlook, and International Energy Outlook. (Independent Statistics and Analysis, U.S. Energy Information Administration)

NCES collects, collates, analyzes, and reports complete statistics on the condition of American education; conducts and publishes reports; and reviews and reports on education activities internationally. (Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education)

The non-profit research organization analyzes and clarifies federal data so that people can understand and influence how their tax dollars are spent. It focuses on the impact of federal spending and other policies at the national, state, congressional district, and local levels. The National Priorities Project Database can be searched by geographic area and topical issue. (National Priorities Project)

Provides a central clearinghouse for the collection, interpretation, and analysis of data on scientific and engineering resources, and to provide a source of information for policy formulation by other agencies of the Federal Government. (Division of Science Resources Statistics, National Science Foundation)

Provides data on our nation's social insurance and welfare programs including the Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance program, known collectively as Social Security, and the Supplemental Security Income program. In addition, data are presented on Medicare and Medicaid and other social insurance programs, including workers' compensation, unemployment, temporary disability, veterans' benefits, and more. (U.S. Social Security Administration)

Includes a link to updated information. Features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of sources. (U.S. Census Bureau)

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. (U.S. Census Bureau)

Databases, tables, and calculators by subject area categories including: Inflation & Prices, Employment, Unemployment, Pay & Benefits, Spending & Time Use, Productivity, Workplace Injuries, International statistics, Regional Resources. (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)

Provides a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. (Produced by the Statistics of Income Division and other areas of the Internal Revenue Service, U.S. Bureau of the Treasury)

The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

The mission BLS is to measure labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. It collects, analyzes, and disseminates essential economic information to support public and private decision–making.

The mission of BTS is to administer data collection, analysis, and reporting and to ensure the most cost-effective use of transportation-monitoring resources.

The mission of the Bureau is to be the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. It collects the following data: Population & Housing Census (every 10 years), Economic Census (every 5 years), Census of Governments (5 years), American Community Survey (annually), Economic Indicators, and other surveys. The Bureau collects information in many other surveys and provides the data to various government agencies for release.