Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Department: COVID-19 Updates

Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Hours

COVID-19 Update: Please see updates here.


HP Reading Room: Closed

Summer Session II (July 6 - August 13)

Chat Reference service is available:
Monday-Friday: 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm

You may reach out to us via methods below at any time.


Contact Us

E-mail:
hawnpac@hawaii.edu

Ask us:
https://manoa.hawaii.edu/library/help/ask-us/

Phone: 
808-956-8264
Be sure to leave an e-mail address so we can get back to you.

Update

COVID UPDATE, June 7, 2021

Since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic we have benefited from HathiTrust's Extended Temporary Access Service (https://hathitrust.org). This services gave us digital access to about 40% of our print collection while the book stacks were closed.

With the start of Fall Semester 2021 on August 23, the UH Manoa Library will reopen the books stacks to browsing and borrowing. The HathiTrust Extended Temporary Access will end on August 22, 2021. The HathiTrust collection of 7 million public domain volumes will still be available.

If you were planning on using a volume from HathiTrust as a text for a class or for Course Reserves you will need to make other arrangements. Contact your liaison librarian to see if an alternate e-copy of the text is available.

COVID-19 UPDATE, May 24, 2021

While we anticipate that the UHM campus will re-open to the public on June 1, 2021, Hamilton Library, including the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections, will continue its current operations through the Summer Session terms.

The Hawaiian and Pacific Collections reading room will remain closed. Access to our collections for library users affiliated with UH will be available via HathiTrust where applicable, and via Request, Sign, Grab & Go for titles not available via HathiTrust. Reference assistance will be available via chat reference, Mon-Fri, 12:00pm-4:00pm, and via e-mail to hawnpac@hawaii.edu.

We are planning to re-open by the Fall semester. Details on the extent of this re-opening will be posted here, as they become known.

Update

COVID-19 Update, October 7, 2020

Hawaiian and Pacific Collections loans can now be extended to a maximum of 154 days (i.e. the initial 14 day loan plus a maximum of 10 renewals). You must renew your loans before they are overdue. Renew UH Library materials via My Account.

If the item/s you have on loan are available through HathiTrust, you will not be allowed to renew them, and you must return them to the library before they are due.

E-mail questions to hawnpac@hawaii.edu.

Update

COVID-19 Update, August 26, 2020

HAWAIIAN AND PACIFIC COLLECTIONS
FOR UH SYSTEM AND EWC LIBRARY USERS

ACCESS TO HAMILTON LIBRARY

Entry to Hamilton Library will be allowed, as follows:

  • UH and EWC cardholders only
  • For study or use of CLIC Lab only
  • No direct access to library materials
  • Hours as posted here
  • Hawaiian and Pacific Collections Reading Room remains closed

ACCESS TO HAWAIIAN AND PACIFIC LIBRARY MATERIALS

  • Use OneSearch to identify materials.
  • After identifying which titles you need, check for availability of online copy via HathiTrust Extended Access Service (ETAS).
  • For titles that are not available via Hathi Trust (and can thus be made available physically for use), requests may be submitted via these methods:
    • UH Mānoa patrons
      • Use our Request, Sign, Grab, and Go service to request that materials be retrieved and loaned to you. Materials that can be borrowed will be available for pick-up at Hamilton Library.
    • Non-Mānoa UH System patrons have two options
      • Use our Request, Sign, Grab, and Go service to request that materials be retrieved and loaned to you. Materials that can be borrowed will be available for pick-up at Hamilton Library. OR
      • Submit an Intra-System Loan request via your home library. Materials that can be borrowed will be sent to your home library for you to pick up there.
  • If any of the titles you request can not be borrowed, you will be contacted by a librarian or staff member to determine if alternatives can be identified, or if partial scans can be provided.

HELP WITH RESEARCH - FOR STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF

We continue to offer help with research. Contact information is here.

LIBRARY INSTRUCTION - FOR INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY

Library instruction is available via Zoom. Contact a Hawaiian Collection or Pacific Collection librarian. If you do not have a contact, e-mail us at hawnpac@hawaii.edu, and you will be connected with a librarian.

HELP WITH RESEARCH ASSIGNMENT AND COURSE DESIGN - FOR INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY

Because access to our collections will be limited due to COVID-19, we strongly recommend working with a librarian to scope out research assignments. Contact a Hawaiian Collection or Pacific Collection librarian. If you do not have a contact, e-mail us at hawnpac@hawaii.edu, and you will be connected with a librarian.

ONLINE RESOURCES FOR HP RESEARCH

HP Chat Reference