University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Southeast Asia Film & Cinema: Online Resources

Asia Pacific Films

UH Logo Access the University of Hawai'i, Mānoa database of Asia Pacific Films.  Requires UH login.

Academy for Southeast Asian Filmakers

Academy Logo Chevrolet and MOFILM have partnered up to create an amazing opportunity for Southeast Asian filmmakers that you can apply for today. Together they are launching the Academy for Southeast Asian Filmmakers (ASAF), an immersive three-day exploration of storytelling through film that is focused on equipping you with high-level strategic insights and practical tools to help you develop your filmmaking skills and career.

ArtStor

ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Minimum Requirements: IE 7.0+, Firefox 3.0+ or Safari 3.0+

Asian Film Archive

Asian Film Archive Logo The Asian Film Archive was founded in January 2005 as a non-governmental organisation to preserve the rich film heritage of Singapore and Asian Cinema, to encourage scholarly research on film, and to promote a wider critical appreciation of this art form.

Association for Asian Studies: Asia Video Resources on the WWW

The Association of Asian Studies host a website listing an array of Asia Video Resources.

Bophana Audiovisual Resource Center (Cambodia)

The Bophana Center acquires film, television, photography and sound archives on Cambodia from all around the world and gives free public access to this precious heritage. For Cambodians, it opens the door to large swathes of memory. Since it opened onPaintings of Bohpana December 4, 2006, over 240,000 people have (re)discovered these documents in Phnom Penh and throughout the country. For teachers, students, researchers or journalists, it is an exceptional documentary database. Currently, nearly 700 hours of video are available, including: the first movies of the Lumière brothers in the late nineteenth century; recent fictions by Cambodian directors; TV coverage; nonprofit movies; documentaries; Norodom Sihanouk’s movies; etc. Meanwhile, hundreds of archives are being organized and indexed.

British Pathe Video Archive

British Pathé is a dynamic cross-media company and a market leader in the licensing of footage to the broadcast industry. The company is a major supplier to production companies, museums and advertisers worldwide.

 

Cambodia Film Commission

The Cambodia Film Commission aims to make filming in Cambodia as straight-forward a process as possible. As a first point ofCFC Logo contact for filming in Cambodia, the CFC offers free comprehensive services to all kinds of production (feature films, TV programs, commercials, documentaries, institutional films, karaokes…), in order to facilitate the work of film crew.

DocNet Southeast Asia

Doc Net LogoDocNet Southeast Asia is initiated and coordinated by the Goethe-Institut and funded by the EuropeAid programme “Investing in People“. The programme aims to support documentary filmmaking in Southeast Asia and to professionalize and unite varied local initiatives to make the missing voice of the region heard.

DocNet Southeast Asia addresses independent documentary film makers, producers, film schools, TV stations and other relevant stakeholders and aims to create adequate conditions for the documentary film scene. By organising various events, the project aims to promote networking within and outside of the region, to raise awareness for documentaries from Southeast Asia and to create a market which will give new talents from the region a professional perspective.

Dili Film Works (Timor-Leste)

Dili Film Works is based in Timor Leste (East Timor). It is Timor Leste’s first film & television production company to receive finance for a feature film, and to have its short films accepted into an international film festival. Dili Film Work’s mission is to establish a sustainable film & television industry in the fledgling nation.

Kyoto University CSEAS Visual Documentary Project

Logo Kyoto University's Center for Southeast Asian Studies will initiate a three year Visual Documentary Project that explicitly examines the contours of their everyday lives through a visual approach. The documentary is one of the most potent forms of media to capture the everyday nuances of social life. This project aims to use visual forms of expression to complement the growing literature that exists on Southeast Asian societies. The above framework will offer three separate but interrelated themes that deal with “plural co-existence” in the region.

Film & Television Literature Index

Film & Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.

Films on Demand

UH logo Access the University of Hawai'i, Mānoa database of Films On Demand.  Requires UH login.

Film Development Council of the Philippines

Film Council Log The Film Development Council of the Philippines is the government-backed lead agency for film in the Philippines ensuring that the economic, cultural and educational aspects of film are effectively represented at home and abroad.

National Film Development Corporation (Malaysia)

NatiFilm Corporation Logo onal Film Development Corporation Malayisa (FINAS) is Malaysia’s leading film agency and authority entrusted with the responsibility of developing the film industry.

Singapore Film Commission

Media Development Authority LogoThe Singapore Film Commission (SFC), which is part of MDA, nurtures, supports and promotes Singapore talent in filmmaking and the production of films. It administers the New Talent Featur​​e Grant, which supports first and second-time filmmakers in developing feature films; as well as the Film Mentorship Initiative, which helps filmmakers attend ​international film project labs overseas, so they can learn from experts and work on their skills. To deepen the appreciation of local films in Singapore, the SGFilm Channel​ was launched in February 2013 as part of the Watch Local initiative, to allow easy access to Singapore short films and trailers of upcoming local releases. - See more at: http://www.mda.gov.sg/IndustryDevelopment/IndustrySectors/Film/Pages/Film.aspx#sthash.aJ3r4J26.dpuf

The Singapore Film Commission (SFC), which is part of MDA, nurtures, supports and promotes Singapore talent in filmmaking and the production of films. It administers the New Talent Featur​​e Grant, which supports first and second-time filmmakers in developing feature films; as well as the Film Mentorship Initiative, which helps filmmakers attend ​international film project labs overseas, so they can learn from experts and work on their skills. To deepen the appreciation of local films in Singapore, the SGFilm Channel​ was launched in February 2013 as part of the Watch Local initiative, to allow easy access to Singapore short films and trailers of upcoming local releases. - See more at: http://www.mda.gov.sg/IndustryDevelopment/IndustrySectors/Film/Pages/Film.aspx#sthash.aJ3r4J26.dpuf

Southeast Asia Movie Theater Project

SE Asia Movie Theater Photo The Southeast Asia Movie Theater Project is a photographic archive of stand-alone movie theaters in Southeast Asia.  Whether operating, abandoned, or repurposed, here their images have been compiled and displayed for the public record.  To submit your own Southeast Asian movie theater photos, write to: sea.theater@hotmail.com

Southeast Asia Pacific Audiovisual Archives Association

LogoThe idea of forming a the Southeast Asia Pacific Audiovisual Archives Association first came up in the Conference Workshop on ASEAN Audio/Video and Film Retrieval, Restoration and Archiving held in Manila in 1993. In this conference, the participants drew up a framework for a comprehensive program for film/video archiving including a recommendation to form an ASEAN confederation of film archivists to promote the development of film/video archiving in the region.

Thai Film Archives (YouTube)

Click here to view videos posted to YouTube in the Thai Film Archives.

Southeaest Asia Film Lab

Southeast Asia Film Lab Logo The Southeast Asian Film Lab is a 6-day workshop aimed at emerging filmmakers from Southeast Asia. The focus is on stories exploring Southeast Asian identity, to be developed into feature length screenplays. Ten projects will be selected to participate. The session will include masterclasses with established practitioners from the region and special guests as well as networking opportunities. Participants will also receive individual consultation sessions with mentors. The film lab will end with a pitch in front of an industry jury, which will award the S$5,000 prize—presented by Giraffe Pictures—to the most promising project to be presented at the Silver Screen Awards.

University of Wisconsin: South & Southeast Asia Video Archive

U of WI Logo Search online for all of the University of Wisconsin's holdings in their South and Southeast Asia Video Archive.

University of California Berkeley Southeast Asia Video Resources

View the holdings in the University of California's Berkeley's Southeast Asia Video collection. UC Berkeley Logo

Viddsee: Best Short Films in Asia

Viddsee logo Viddsee traveled around Asia to hand-pick the best short films, and here are the good, the classic and the unforgettable.

Southeast Asia Film Festivals & Conferences

SE Asia Map Want to learn more about what's new in Southeast Asian Cinema? Check out these regional film festivals and research conferences.