Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Southeast Asia Microform Project
The Southeast Asia Microform Project (SEAM) provides subscribing institutions with better coverage of research materials related to the study of Southeast Asia. SEAM will film or acquire films of such research materials and make them readily available to subscribers to the project.
The John M. Echols Collection on Southeast Asia, Cornell University
The Echols Collection has been a joint undertaking of the university, the library, and the Southeast Asia Program with the goal of acquiring a copy of every publication of research value produced in the countries of Southeast Asia and publications about the region published in other parts of the world.
Southeast Asia Collection, Ohio University
The Collection includes materials on all the nations of Southeast Asia; the holdings are particularly strong on the countries of Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei and Indonesia. The Collection includes monographs, journals, newspapers and government documents totaling well over 110,000 titles. Some of the more specialized resources include:
* The Straits Settlements and British Military Administration records
* Indonesian imprints from the Japanese Occupation and Nationalists periods
In addition to the countries noted above, Ohio University has collecting responsibility for the following areas in Indonesia: Bengkulu, Jambi, South Sumatra, East Java, Lampung, and Riau.
South East Asia in the SOAS Library
The South East Asia & Pacific section includes publications on South East Asia as a whole (including material on ASEAN, APEC, the Pacific Rim and the Asia-Pacific region) and the individual countries and regions of South East Asia - Brunei, Burma (Myanmar); Cambodia, East Timor; Indonesia (including separate sections on Indonesian provinces); Laos; Malaysia; the Philippines; Singapore; Thailand; Vietnam. The main strengths of the South East Asia collection are in languages, linguistics and literatures; anthropology and ethnic minorities; religion; economics, finance and statistics; development issues; politics and government; law, including customary law; human rights; history and biography; film, the press and media studies.
KITLV/Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies at Leiden
The KITLV / Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies has specialized in collecting information and advancing research on the present and former Dutch colonies and their surroundings since 1851. Today it is an authoritative research institute focusing on Southeast Asia, in particular Indonesia, and the Caribbean, especially Suriname, the Dutch Antilles and Aruba. Our collections, publications and research encompass the humanities and the social sciences, ranging from colonial history to present-day social issues. KITLV houses sizeable and diverse collections, a leading publishing unit, and changing research projects.
CSEAS, University of Hawai'i at Manoa
With more than 50 associated faculty, the Center has access to the largest concentration of Southeast Asia specialists in the United States. The Center’s Southeast Asia Working Papers series, established in 1972, has more than forty titles, while the Center’s Southeast Asia Papers series, established in 2000, has two edited volumes. These papers are now available for free downloading via the UH ScholarSpace, the UH open-access, digital institutional repository found here:
Examples of the Center’s past publications are "Chronicles of Chiang Khaeng: a Tai Lu Principlaity of the Upper Mekong," by Volker Grabowsky and Renoo Wichasin and "Blood Bond," by Ma Ma Lay. As of 2015, the CSEAS is no longer involved in publishing hard copy materials.
East West Center
The East-West Center promotes better relations and understanding among the people and nations of the United States, Asia, and the Pacific through cooperative study, research, and dialogue. Established by the U.S. Congress in 1960, the Center serves as a resource for information and analysis on critical issues of common concern, bringing people together to exchange views, build expertise, and develop policy options.
Asia Research Institute (ARI)
The Asia Research Institute (ARI) was established as a university-level institute in July 2001 as one of the strategic initiatives of the National University of Singapore (NUS). Its mission is to provide a world-class focus and resource for research on the Asian region, located at one of its communication hubs.
ARI engages the humanities and social sciences broadly defined, and especially interdisciplinary frontiers between and beyond disciplines.
The Association for Asian Studies
the largest society of its kind, with approximately 7,000 members worldwide—is a scholarly, non-political, non-profit professional association open to all persons interested in Asia. Through its publications, online resources, regional conferences, and annual meeting, the AAS provides its members with a unique and invaluable professional network.
The Committee on Research Materials on Southeast Asia (CORMOSEA)
A committee of the Southeast Asia Council (SEAC) of the Association for Asian Studies (AAS), it was established to enhance the collection of Southeast Asia research materials and to assist in making them available to Southeast Asia scholars, faculty, and students nationwide.
CSEAS, Kyoto University
CSEAS, formally known as Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University, a pioneer in area studies, was founded in 1963. Since then, the center has come to embrace not only the humanities and social sciences, but also other disciplines such as agronomy, ecology, medicine and the natural sciences. CSEAS combines both field sciences, the humanities and sciences to offer an interdisciplinary joint research center, a unique feature which makes it stand out from other area studies institutions and facilities around the world.
CSEAS, Monash University
The Centre of Southeast Asian Studies was established in 1964, soon after the founding of Monash University, in recognition of the importance of the Southeast Asian region to the university and the expertise of Monash staff in this field.
CSEAS, Northern Illinois University
Located 65 miles west of Chicago, NIU is a comprehensive undergraduate and graduate university with approximately 25,000 students. For those pursuing an undergraduate minor in Southeast Asian studies or a graduate specialty with a Southeast Asian focus, NIU and CSEAS offer:
* Fellowships and scholarship opportunities
* Language training in Burmese, Indonesian, Khmer, Lao (on demand), Malay, Tagalog, and Thai
* Research opportunities in a variety of disciplines
* Cultural and networking activities
* Extensive study abroad options
Dept. of Southeast Asia, School of African and Asian Studies (SOAS), London
Our teaching and research focuses on five of the major languages of the region - Burmese, Indonesian/Malay, Thai, Vietnamese and Khmer - and in their literatures, cinemas and associated cultures.
Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS)
Singapore-based regional research centre for scholars and other specialists concerned with modern Southeast Asia and its wider geo-strategic and economic environment.
International Institute for Asian Studies (IIAS)
The International Institute for Asian Studies (IIAS) is a postdoctoral research centre based in Leiden and Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Its objective is to encourage the interdisciplinary and comparative study of Asia and promote national and international cooperation. The institute focuses on the human and social sciences and on their interaction with other sciences.
Southeast Asia Research Centre (SEARC)
SEARC has established a strong international reputation as an important setting for the study of political, economic, and social issues in contemporary Southeast Asia. While receiving funding in most years from City University of Hong Kong (CityU), SEARC members have actively sought competitive external grant funding, helping to foster a steady output of high-quality publications and working papers. The Centre has also attracted many respected scholars as visitors who, in carrying out research projects and conducting seminars, have further energized the Centre. And in regularly sponsoring international conferences, workshops, public addresses, and roundtables, SEARC has contributed widely to public debate and intellectual life at CityU.
Other Internet Resources
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)
APEC is the primary regional vehicle for promoting open trade and practical economic co-operation. Its goal is to advance Asia-Pacific economic dynamism and sense of community.
Asian Development Bank (ADB)
ADB is a multilateral development finance institution, headquartered in Manila, dedicated to reducing poverty in Asia and the Pacific.
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
ASEAN was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries, namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined on 8 January 1984, Vietnam on 28 July 1995, Laos and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999. The objectives of ASEAN is to accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and to promote regional peace and stability.