Research Guides: Social Work: Track Legislation

Track Legislation

Tools to Track Federal/State Legislation
News Sources

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
Non-partisan research and policy institute working on federal and state fiscal policies and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income Americans
GovTrak.us
Helps you find the status of U.S. federal legislation, voting records for the Senate and House of Representatives, information on Members of Congress, congressional district maps, and the status of state legislation.
Guide to E-Resources on the Federal Government
Hamilton Library Government Documents guide provides electronic resources & tools to find information about all aspects of the federal government.
Guide to Legislative Histories
This Hamilton Library Government Documents guide provides resources & tools to find information about federal government legislative histories.
Hawai'i State Legislature
Learn about the legislative process, track state legislation, and set up your own account to keep up to date at the official site of Hawai'i State Legislature.
National Association of Social Workers Advocacy Resources
Includes information about current legislation (summaries and status information about key bills), legislative alerts and updates, and more.

Full text national news sources include:

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text articles from over 5600 publications going back over 20 years. Use it to find general news, business & financial information, state and international legal materials, and more.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes over 700 full-text newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.

For Hawai'i news sources, Proquest provides fulltext access to backfiles and up to the day before current, as shown below:

The Hawai'i Pacific Journal Index provides indexing for magazines and journals, and a few newspaper titles. Most notable is the indexing for Hawaii Herald, covering 1980 to the present. Indexing for MidWeek and the Honolulu Weekly is scattered.