Social Work

Hawaii State Public Library Systems (HSPLS) Resources. The HSPLS provides access to a selection of electronic databases with scholarly articles including Academic Search Complete, ERIC, GreenFILE, JSTOR, Legal Collection, Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection, and more.

If you already have an HSPLS library card, you can access these databases immediately. If not, you can sign up for a free Self-Registration (SR) card by completing the online form here: https://hawaii.ent.sirsi.net/custom/web/registration/index.html

This temporary SR card provides instant access to HSPLS’s licensed online databases for 45 days. Before the access period ends, please visit your local public library to obtain the permanent HSPLS card. 

University of Hawaii at Manoa Hamilton Library. Hamilton Library welcomes all individuals who wish to use materials within the library buildings. UH alumni may purchase a Community Borrower Card for $60 per year, which allows them to check out physical materials. Most books are housed on open shelves and can be retrieved directly. While subscription databases are available at a designated computer on-site, remote access is limited to current UHM students, faculty, and staff due to licensing restrictions.

Social Work Commons is an open access scholarly article database. Explore available articles here: Social Work Commons 

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). All of the journals in the DOAJ are peer reviewed, and there are quality controls in place to weed out what are known as predatory publishers. All of the articles are free. Numerous journals in the DOAJ that may be of use to you including

• Journal of Comparative Social Work
• Critical Social Work
• Advances in Social Work
• Society, Health & Vulnerability
• Sexual and Reproductive Health Matters
• International Journal of Adolescence and Youth
• Social Affairs

It may be easier to search for articles within the journals, rather than through the DOAJ website.