Bishop Museum Library & Archives
Website: http://www.bishopmuseum.org/research/library/libarch.html
Collection: The archives have a very strong audio/visual collection of photographs, audio recordings. They also have a strong manuscripts collection of letters, correspondence, dairies, and other written materials pertaining to Hawaiʻi's chiefs, people, culture, and history. Their library includes the extensive studies and research materials completed or used by museum staff in various disciplines throughout the Pacific.
Family History Centers
Find locations near you: https://familysearch.org/locations/
Collection: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints has several Family History Centers here and around the world to help with genealogy research and to provide access to the thousands of genealogy-related microfilmed reels they have made. The microfilms have been digitized and can be accessed electronically on-site. The each center holds similar genealogy resources but the collections differ and may be more complete than others. Before visiting the center, call to find out the hours and any policies you need to know about.
UHM Hawaiian Collection
Website: http://library.manoa.hawaii.edu/departments/hp/
Collections: The Hawaiian Collection at UH Mānoa holds the largest collection of published materials about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. A collection strength is their expansive holdings of newspapers on microfilm published throughout Hawaiʻi. Another strength is their archival collections from the Hawaiʻi Sugar Planters Association and theses and dissertations from around the world that are about Hawaiʻi.
Hawaiʻi State Archives
Website: http://ags.hawaii.gov/archives/
Collection: The Hawaiʻi State Archives preserves and provides access to the State’s government archival records. These records date from the monarchy to the current legislative session, and also include the papers of individuals and organizations, photographs, maps, artifacts, rare books, 19th century newspapers.
Hawaiian Historical Society
Website: https://www.hawaiianhistory.org
Collection: The Historical Society has a strong collection of early voyages and Hawaiian-language books. This collection also has many unique manuscript collections, photographs along with broadsides and pamphlets published in Hawaiʻi. This collection also has one of the largest collections of print Hawaiian language newspapers. The Historical Society and Missionʻs Children Society Library are located in the same building.
Hawaiian Mission Houses Library
Website: http://www.missionhouses.org/index.php/library/library-collection
Collection: The Hawaiian Mission Houses Library has the largest collection of Hawaiian-language books and the largest collection of missionary correspondence, journals, and reports. They are actively digitizing their collections and have made them available here, https://hmha.missionhouses.org/. The Historical Society and Missionʻs Children Society Library are located in the same building.
An equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Use of this site implies consent with our Usage Policy.