Corps of Engineers - Government Documents - Military and Veterans Agencies - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

The Engineer Department was established in 1802 as part of the War Dept. Its name was later changed to the Corps of Engineers when it became part of the Department of Defense. The USACE was originally responsible for construction of coastal defenses, managing aids to navigation, and surveying and mapping. Its mission was later extended to include flood control and construction of military facilities abroad.

The Corps currently includes the Waterways Experiment Station, the Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory, the Coastal Engineering Research Center, Construction Engineering Research Laboratory, and the Institute of Water Resources.

USACE Digital Library
Books, technical reports, magazines, photos, and maps can be found in this resource.
Louisiana State University Library
LSU Library is a Center of Excellence for COE publications and collects them comprehensively.
USACE Library Program
Government Accountability Office
GAO produces reports about USACE programs, activities, and budget for members of Congress.

Government Documents holds an extensive collection of Army Corps of Engineers publications, including the following titles:

Annual report of the Chief of Engineers
Call Number: GOVD D 103.1:; M 110.1:; W 7.1:
Waterborne commerce of the United States
Call Number: GOVD D 103.1/2:
Statistics on waterborne freight traffic in inland and coastal waters. Volumes are available in print or HathiTrust.
Port series
Call Number: GOVD D 103.8:
Information about port facilities, customs, regulations, etc.
Waterways Experiment Station technical reports
Call Number: GOVD D 103.24/2:
Most of these are also available in dtic.mil.
Water resources development in [state]
Call Number: GOVD D 103.35/]
Navigation charts
Call Number: GOVD D 103.66:
Most of these are in the oversize (folio) collection and all are cataloged.
Flood hazard studies
Call Number: GOVD D 103.2:
Also available in the Hawaiian Collection.

Additional documents covering 1910-1932 are available in the Executive Branch Documents microfiche set. We provide access to Congressional documents and hearings about USACE, its budget, and projects. Please contact a government documents librarian if you have questions about our holdings. We also have a variety of general publications, recruiting pamphlets, and other materials.

The Map Collection has a number of USACE maps of Hawai‘i and the Pacific.

USACE Channel on YouTube

Pacific ocean engineers: history of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in the Pacific, 1905-1980 by Erwin N. Thompson
Call Number: GOVD D 103.2:En 3/7/905-980
Publication Date: 1985
Describes the construction of several of the air bases in Hawai`i and the Pacific
History of the Honolulu Engineer District, 1905-1965 by Ellen Van Hoften
Call Number: Hawaiian UG23.A23 V34
Publication Date: 1970
U.S. Army Engineers in Hawaii : an inventory of records before 1948 : located in Record Group 338, National Archives and Records Administration Archives II, College Park, Maryland by Donald T. Fitzgerald
Call Number: GOVD D 103.43:870-1-51
Publication Date: 1997

Internet resources

Air Force e-publishing
Air Force publications and forms
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
Index to articles in periodicals published by branches of the military from 1988-present. Older issues are also available in Government Documents under call number D 301.26/2:
Army War College Library
The Military History Institute at the Army War College has an extensive collection of unit histories. The Army Military Institute also has copies of Army publications that may not be available elsewhere.
ASSIST
Quick Search ASSIST allows users to search for military specifications and standards. Most may be downloaded for free.
Center for Legislative Archives
The CLA, part of the National Archives, is the repository for copies of documents printed by the Government Printing Office. Its holdings date back to 1895. It is the collection of last resort for publications listed in the Monthly Catalog of Government Publications.
Combined Arms Research Library
CARL supports the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College, and is a source for Army documents.
data.mil
The Department of Defense's open data portal.
DTIC Technical Reports Search
DTIC is the Defense Technical Information Center. You can search technical reports from many military sources, most of which are available in full text. We may have other reports in print or microform.
Duke University Libraries
Duke University Library is a Center of Excellence for Economic Analysis Bureau, International Trade Administration, International Trade Commission, Military History Center, Naval Historical Center, and Women's Bureau. It collects publications of these agencies comprehensively.
Historical Programs and Activities in the Executive Branch
Society for History in the Federal Government's guide to historical offices in federal agencies, including many military archives and museums.
How to get it : a guide to defense-related information resources
Guide to obtaining a variety of DoD publications, regulations, directives, forms, etc.
Military Service Records and Unit Histories: A Guide to Locating Sources
Congressional Research Service guide, written for members of Congress to aid in assisting constituents (PDF)
Staff College Automated Military Periodical Index (SCAMPI)
Index to articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics from military, government, and other sources.
U.S. Army Heritage Collection Online
Some online collections and catalogs of the archival holdings of the U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center in Carlisle Barracks, PA.
Where to find military information
Naval Postgraduate School guide to finding military information.
Air Force History Index
Unofficial index to over 500,000 Air Force publications.
National Technical Reports Library
DoD regulations and directives are available from National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
Government Accountability Office
GAO publishes numerous reports and provides testimony to Congressional committees about procurement, budgeting, weapons programs, bases, and other aspects of the military.

Military & Government Collection
Full text content consists of peer-reviewed and other scholarly journals, with a focus on engineering. The database includes the following features: over 100 new full text titles added, bringing the total number of full text to 287 titles, full text country reports from CountryWatch, 245 full text pamphlets, and indexing and abstract coverage for dozens of newly added journals.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
EBSCO has made changes to the database previously entitled Military Library FullTEXT. The database, now known as Military and Government Collection, has been enhanced with added content. EBSCO has also given the database a sharper focus to better meet the needs of its users in military and non-military government libraries.

A soldier is guided by two shirtless local men in Papua New Guinea

Engineer intelligence, volume III

Winter scene featuring snow-covered trees and a creek

Water spectrum

Photo of a flooded roadway in Honolulu with submerged cars

Flooding problems? Maybe you can help yourself!

Subject Guide

Gwen Sinclair

Email Me

Contact:

2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822

808-956-2549

Subjects: Government Documents

Government Documents - Military and Veterans Agencies: Corps of Engineers

Internet resources

Engineer intelligence, volume III

Water spectrum

Flooding problems? Maybe you can help yourself!

Subject Guide