Office of Civil Defense - Government Documents - Military and Veterans Agencies - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

The Office of Civil Defense (OCD) was originally established under the President as part of the Office of Emergency Preparedness. In 1961, it was transferred to the DoD. Later, in 1964, OCD was transferred to the Department of the Army. In 1972, it became the Defense Civil Preparedness Agency, again falling under DoD. Its functions were eventually transferred to the newly established Federal Emergency Management Agency in 1979, which is now part of the Department of Homeland Security.

Government Documents holds a small collection of Civil Defense publications, including the following titles:

Annual report
Call Number: GOVD D 119.1:, D 14.1:
Technical reports
Call Number: GOVD D 119.9:, D 14.9:

Many documents are pamphlets, which are kept in pamphlet files in Government Documents. We also hold current and past laws and regulations related to civil defense as well as Congressional hearings and other publications about OCD.

Films on Demand
Films on Demand hosts a number of civil defense films from the 1940s onward. UHM login required.

Civil defense films at National Archives
NARA hosts a number of historical training and educational films about civil defense.

Internet resources

Air Force e-publishing
Air Force publications and forms
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
Index to articles in periodicals published by branches of the military from 1988-present. Older issues are also available in Government Documents under call number D 301.26/2:
Army War College Library
The Military History Institute at the Army War College has an extensive collection of unit histories. The Army Military Institute also has copies of Army publications that may not be available elsewhere.
ASSIST
Quick Search ASSIST allows users to search for military specifications and standards. Most may be downloaded for free.
Center for Legislative Archives
The CLA, part of the National Archives, is the repository for copies of documents printed by the Government Printing Office. Its holdings date back to 1895. It is the collection of last resort for publications listed in the Monthly Catalog of Government Publications.
Combined Arms Research Library
CARL supports the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College, and is a source for Army documents.
data.mil
The Department of Defense's open data portal.
DTIC Technical Reports Search
DTIC is the Defense Technical Information Center. You can search technical reports from many military sources, most of which are available in full text. We may have other reports in print or microform.
Duke University Libraries
Duke University Library is a Center of Excellence for Economic Analysis Bureau, International Trade Administration, International Trade Commission, Military History Center, Naval Historical Center, and Women's Bureau. It collects publications of these agencies comprehensively.
Historical Programs and Activities in the Executive Branch
Society for History in the Federal Government's guide to historical offices in federal agencies, including many military archives and museums.
How to get it : a guide to defense-related information resources
Guide to obtaining a variety of DoD publications, regulations, directives, forms, etc.
Military Service Records and Unit Histories: A Guide to Locating Sources
Congressional Research Service guide, written for members of Congress to aid in assisting constituents (PDF)
Staff College Automated Military Periodical Index (SCAMPI)
Index to articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics from military, government, and other sources.
U.S. Army Heritage Collection Online
Some online collections and catalogs of the archival holdings of the U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center in Carlisle Barracks, PA.
Where to find military information
Naval Postgraduate School guide to finding military information.
Air Force History Index
Unofficial index to over 500,000 Air Force publications.
National Technical Reports Library
DoD regulations and directives are available from National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
Government Accountability Office
GAO publishes numerous reports and provides testimony to Congressional committees about procurement, budgeting, weapons programs, bases, and other aspects of the military.

Military & Government Collection
Full text content consists of peer-reviewed and other scholarly journals, with a focus on engineering. The database includes the following features: over 100 new full text titles added, bringing the total number of full text to 287 titles, full text country reports from CountryWatch, 245 full text pamphlets, and indexing and abstract coverage for dozens of newly added journals.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
EBSCO has made changes to the database previously entitled Military Library FullTEXT. The database, now known as Military and Government Collection, has been enhanced with added content. EBSCO has also given the database a sharper focus to better meet the needs of its users in military and non-military government libraries.

Drawing of a shapely woman wearing an OCD uniform

Block leaders' alert!

A handbook for air raid wardens

Photo of people of different ethnicities and ages speaking

Wanted: 100,000 speakers

Subject Guide

Gwen Sinclair

Email Me

Contact:

2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822

808-956-2549

Subjects: Government Documents

Government Documents - Military and Veterans Agencies: Office of Civil Defense

Internet resources

Block leaders' alert!

A handbook for air raid wardens

Wanted: 100,000 speakers

Subject Guide