Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contemporary Regional News Sites
Pacific Studies News Sources
Compiled by librarians Stu Dawrs and Eleanor Kleiber, this is a useful guide to numerous Pacific media outlets.
French language news aggregation site for the Pacific region
Pacific Islands News Association
The Pacific Islands News Association (PINA) is a regional organisation representing the interests of media professionals in the Pacific region. It links radio, television, newspapers, magazines, online services, national associations and journalism schools in 23 Pacific Island
Pacific Islands Report
News aggregation of articles from across the Pacific region. Hosted by the East-West Center.
Pacific Media Centere: Te Amokura
The PMC, founded in 2007, also collaborates with other Asia-Pacific media centres engaged in research and cultural production and develops cultural and research publications, building on the success of the peer-reviewed publication Pacific Journalism Review , media freedom project Pacific Media Watch and current affairs website Pacific Scoop.
Radio Australia: Pacific Beat
Focusing on the Pacific region, the program brings you interviews with leaders, newsmakers, and people who make the Pacific beat. Web site contains articles and stories.
Digital Libraries and Archives
Hoʻolaupaʻi He ʻOhina Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi
A collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948. Not comprehensive, but contains many articles or runs either as a scan or a transcribed text. Sometimes both.
Niupepa: Maori Newspapers
A collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932. Some images are available as both a scan and/or a text transcription.
Pacific Digital Library
The Pacific Digital Library is a collaborative digital library development project created by a team of Pacific islander librarians. The focus is on Micronesia, and it contains many publications from the Trust Territory period.
Outside Accounts of the Pacific (Anglophone)
Foreign accounts of the Pacific
While the focus of this guide is on newspapers produced within the Pacific, there are electronic repositories and databases which contain newspapers accounts about the Pacific. What is included here are newspaper databases from the United States, Chronicling America; Australia, Trove; New Zealand, Papers Past; and Great Britain, British Newspaper Archive.
Newspaper accounts concerning the Pacific reflect each countries sphere of influence and colonial history in the region.
Pacific Historic Newspapers Online
Both the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections have a great many historic newspapers, dating from the 19th century through present. Many are in microfilm, and most have not been indexed, meaning that if you're searching for a specific event, your only option may be to go to the microfilms and begin reading papers dating from the period you're interested in. However, some have been digitized, and in these cases are searchable and readable online.
British Newspaper Index
Coverage ranges from the 18th century forward to early 20th. Payment is required to view full text, but the index can still be useful in searching out citations to news coverage.
Find full-text articles from historic Hawai'i and U.S. newspapers, between 1836-1922.
Marianas Variety (1972-1999)
Search and download the full text of Saipan's major daily newspaper, from 1972-1999. Coverage includes local news as well as news of Micronesia and the Pacific more broadly.
Papers Past (New Zealand)
The National Library of New Zealand hosts this site, which includes New Zealand papers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Hosted by the National Library of Australia, TROVE searches across a vast array of digital content produced by numerous Australian institutions. Digitized newspapers cover the years from 1803 to 1954.