University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Pacific Islands Newspapers : Hawaiʻi

Historic Newspaper


Historic Newspaper: The Daily Herald
Link to UH Voyager record
Online: Yes
Link: http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn85047239/
Dates of publication: 1886 – 1887
Note: Only available in microfilm at UH

 

Indigenous Language Newspaper

 

Indigenous Language Newspaper
Ka Nupepa Kuokoa
Link to UH Voyager record
Online: Yes (not complete) 
Link: Online access to some issues 

Note: Also a historic newspaper

ResearchingHawaiʻi Newspapers

Additional notes:

Because of the great diversity of Hawaiʻi there are a number of newspapers that have been published in a variety of languages, specifically languages from the Pacific, Europe/America, and Asia.

Indexes:

Over the years a variety of Hawaiʻi newspapers have been indexed. Below are a few examples, including years of coverage. Those available online are noted through a hyperlink.

Bob Krauss Research Index

Originally compiled by Hawaiʻi newspaperman Bob Krauss, this online version of his original card index, is both highly useful and particular. This index reflects Krauss’ own interests and is specific to his own way of thinking.

Covers:

The Honolulu Advertiser and its predecessor the Pacific Commercial Advertiser (published since 1856)

The Honolulu Star-Bulletin (published under various titles since 1870)

The Polynesian (1840-1841, 1844-1864)

Years of coverage: 1840 – 1944

 

Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin.

Link to voyager record

Compiled by the Offices of Library Services in Honolulu, this index covers the two leading English language daily papers in Hawaiʻi. The print publication provides indexing for a good portion of the 20th century. Stops in 1993.

It is important to note that between 1993 and 1996 there is a gap between indexing in print and via the database ProQuest. Those years need to be checked manually on microfilm.

Portions are available online through ulukau.org

Covers:

The Honolulu Star-Bulletin

The Honolulu Advertiser

 

Years of coverage: 1929 – 1993

 

Contemporary Newspaper

 

 

 

Current Newspaper: Honolulu Star Advertiser 
Link to UH Voyager record
Online: Yes
Link: http://www.staradvertiser.com/
Dates of publication: 2010 – present
Note: One needs to be a subscriber to access the online edition of the paper