Skip to Main Content

Pacific Islands Newspapers : A Note on Guide Coverage


Pacific island countries or territories without newspaper holdings in the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Hamilton library and the Pacific collection:

Rapa Nui/Easter Island – A province of Chile

Rekohu/Chatham Islands – Part of Aotearoa New Zealand

Tokelau – A territory in free association with Aotearoa New Zealand

The Tuamotu Archipelago, Gambier Islands, Austral Islands, and Marquesas Islands – Overseas territories of France.

While these islands, or island groups, may not have newspapers held in the Pacific collection, many do have other periodicals such as newspapers or magazines which may be of interest. To find these one my conduct a keyword search in the online catalog using the name of the island and periodicals. For example: Tokealau periodicals.

Not included in this guide are Polynesian outliers, for a variety of reasons including: political incorporation within other Pacific states, lack of newspapers or newspapers specific to these islands, and the

Likewise, there are islands and countries such as the Torres Straight Islands or East Timor, which may be considered ethnically, culturally, or linguistically part of Melanesia, but for many reasons are not identified as part of the region. Such islands are not included in this guide. 

Lastly, the collection of newspapers in the Pacific collection reflects the awareness of librarians, their connections within the islands, and their ability to go one collecting trips in the region.