Skip to main content

Japan History: the Asia-Pacific War: Index

Introduction: Japan and WWII resources

This guide is to introduce selected resources regarding WWII and Japan.

Access to the Library's subscription-based databases:
You have to access to all the subscription-based databases via the Library's access link. You need your ID and Password. If the number of simultaneous access exceeds, please wait and try later.

Access to the materials in the closed/special shelves:
Make sure to sign in the Library catalog
When the materials are available online, you will see the link such as Open Resources open access imageor HathiTrust. HathiTrust link imageClick on the link.

When the materials are held only by UHM Library, you can request via request link 2 or contact the Japan Studies Librarian

Asia Reference Desk: Temporary closed due to COVID-19All Library Hours

Target: Outside of Japan

nippon cover   Nippon 1934-1944

https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9922258064605682

Creator: Yonosuke Natori 名取洋之助. Natori learned photography and photo magazine creation in Germany.
Published in English, German, French & Spanish

front cover   Front 1942-1945

https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9922420894605682

Creator: Sozo Okada, Okada originally worked with Natori Yonosuke and together established "Nihon Kobosha" in 1933.
Translated to 15 foreign languages.

cover image of the japanese empireThe Japanese empire 

https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9910098374605682

cover of japan manchuko Japan Manchuko Yearbook
https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9919977854605682

cover of the orient yearbook The Orient Yearbook

https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9934648114605682

 

Target: Japanese Children and Mothers

anime dvd cover   Japanese anime classic collection  

https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9931758964605682
Optional subtitles in Chinese, English, Japanese, or Korean (original animation in Japanese)
Fifty-five vintage Japanese animated short films, originally produced between 1928-1950

Norakuro series example: Private Norakuro (1933) on YouTube https://youtu.be/CK_NGGjtG0Q

Target: US Soldiers

applied book cover   Applied tactics, Japanese Army; translation of Japanese manual 

https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9910732974605682

senjutsu book cover   Oyo senjutsu no sanko 應用戦術ノ参考 

https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma997667654605682

civil affairs handbook cover   Civil affairs handbook: Japan 1944-1945

https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9918623224605682

HathiTrust https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uc1.31822007649882&view=1up&seq=12

Handbook on Japanese military forces https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9916191724605682

https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015051990953&view=1up&seq=3

Handbook on Japanese military forces/US war Department https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9930954314605682

Heigo ... organization of the Japanese army 
https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma993342994605682

The Imperial Japanese Navy in World War II https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma993381604605682

The Japanese Navy in World War II; an anthology of articles by former officers of the Imperial Japanese Navy, and Air Defense Force, originally published in the U.S. Naval Institute Proceedings
https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma991480104605682

Japan and the war

 https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma996805454605682

newsmaps sample image  Newsmaps
https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/NMAP/

warfare cover   Psychological warfare https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9947295014605682