Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japan History: the Asia-Pacific War: Index

Introduction: Japan and WWII resources

This guide is to introduce selected resources regarding WWII and Japan.

Access to the Library's subscription-based databases:
You have to access to all the subscription-based databases via the Library's access link. You need your ID and Password. If the number of simultaneous access exceeds, please wait and try later.

Access to the materials in the closed/special shelves:
Make sure to sign in the Library catalog
When the materials are available online, you will see the link such as Open Resources open access imageor HathiTrust. HathiTrust link imageClick on the link.

All Library Hours, Asia Reference Services

Target: Japanese Children & Youths (parents)

National Policy (Propaganda) Kamishibai
•Produced from 1937 – 1945
•1,000+ titles?
•Many were destroyed after WWII

-Video Kamishibai (Paper Play) and the Mobilization of Women in Wartime Japan 

-Inventory of Kamishibai Collection at the Hoover Institution Library

-Video (in Japanese) https://www.dailymotion.com/video/xa6dgq

Displayed Items

Furoya no daichan cover  Furoya no Daichan
OneSearch Record


Kodomo no umi cover   Kodomo no umi  
OneSearch Record


norimono cover   Tatakau norimono
OneSearch Record

 kesshi no kubaku cover   Kesshi no kubaku
OneSearch Record


kenchan cover   ​Kenchan no mura
OneSearch Record


bokura no rikugun cover   Boku ra (Bokura) no rikugun
OneSearch Record

Magazines for Children

cover image of King  cover image of Fuji 

King (Kingu キング) , Fuji (富士)1925-1957

OneSearch Record

cover image of Shonen Kurabu  Shonen Kurabu 1914-1962

OneSearch Record

 

Target: Outside of Japan

nippon cover   Nippon 1934-1944

OneSearch Record

Creator: Yonosuke Natori 名取洋之助. Natori learned photography and photo magazine creation in Germany.
Published in English, German, French & Spanish

front cover   Front 1942-1945

OneSearch Record

Creator: Sozo Okada, Okada originally worked with Natori Yonosuke and together established "Nihon Kobosha" in 1933.
Translated to 15 foreign languages.

cover image of the japanese empireThe Japanese empire 

OneSearch Record

cover of japan manchuko Japan Manchuko Yearbook

OneSearch Record

via SOAS Digital Collection https://digital.soas.ac.uk/AA00000439/00005/1x

cover of the orient yearbook The Orient Yearbook

OneSearch Record

 

Target: Japanese Children and Mothers

anime dvd cover   Japanese anime classic collection  

OneSearch Record
Optional subtitles in Chinese, English, Japanese, or Korean (original animation in Japanese)
Fifty-five vintage Japanese animated short films, originally produced between 1928-1950

Norakuro series example: Private Norakuro (1933) on YouTube https://youtu.be/CK_NGGjtG0Q

Target: United Kingdom

Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952. Click on this Guide for more information and sample files

Published in three parts, this database makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952.

  • Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930
  • Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945
  • Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952

Target: US Soldiers

applied book cover   Applied tactics, Japanese Army; translation of Japanese manual 

OneSearch Record

senjutsu book cover   Oyo senjutsu no sanko 應用戦術ノ参考 

OneSearch Record

civil affairs handbook cover   Civil affairs handbook: Japan 1944-1945

OneSearch Record

HathiTrust Full-text

Handbook on Japanese military forces  OneSearch Record

Online Full-texts

Handbook on Japanese military forces/US war Department 
OneSearch Record

Heigo ... organization of the Japanese army 
OneSearch Record

The Imperial Japanese Navy in World War II 
OneSearch Record

The Japanese Navy in World War II; an anthology of articles by former officers of the Imperial Japanese Navy, and Air Defense Force, originally published in the U.S. Naval Institute Proceedings
OneSearch Record

Japan and the war
OneSearch Record

 newsmaps sample image  Newsmaps
https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/NMAP/

warfare cover   Psychological warfare 

OneSearch Record | HathiTrust Full-texts