Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Department: Hawaiian Collection

About the Hawaiian Collection

COVID-19 Update

The Hawaiian and Pacific Collections reading room is open to the public. Click here for our hours and contact information.


The Hawaiian Collection at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library is a comprehensive collection of retrospective and current materials pertaining to Hawaiʻi. There are more than 133,500 volumes relating to Hawaiian history, culture, art, and science as well as microfilm holdings of over 12,000 reels and more than 2,000 serial subscriptions. All formats, periodicals, languages, and levels of treatment are collected. The collection's strength is the 20th century and includes numerous unpublished reports and papers that are unique to the collection. The Hawaiian audiovisual collection includes over 4,500 videotapes and over 3,000 sound recordings. The Hawaiian Collection is part of the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections and is housed on the fifth floor of Hamilton Library. The Hawaiian audiovisual collection is housed in the Wong Audiovisual Center located on the first floor of Hamilton Library.

Collection Quick Facts

Collection Holdings

Collection Librarians

Image of Hawaiian Collection Librarians from left to right: Jodie Mattos, Kapena Shim, and Dore Minatodani

Jodie Mattos, Kapena Shim, Dore Minatodani

HP Chat Reference Button