Skip to main content

Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Department: Find Digital Collections

Start Here

The Hawaiian and Pacific Collections have many digital collections that provide greater access and awareness to our physical materials. The digital collections include scrapbooks, photo albums, slides, sound recordings, research papers, photographs, maps, and many other resources.

To browse, click the links below.
Hawaiʻi Digital Collections
Pacific Digital Collections

If you would like to use any of these images in your publication, review the Permission and Attribution section on the Ask Us page.

Hawaiʻi Digital Collections

Title Description
Aloha Hawaiʻi Scrapbook Documents the summer trip of "Miss Rae Chadwick and Miss Norma Stewart, Weber county school teachers" who traveled on the S.S. Malolo to Hawaiʻi in 1935. Contains black and white and hand-colored photographs of scenic sites and identifiable landmarks in Hawaiʻi, programs, tickets, and more.
Anatomy of the Pineapple Original plates of photographs and drawings of pineapple plants and microscopic images of pineapple cell structure. Plates are the original figures submitted by Beatrice Krauss for her article "Anatomy of the vegetative organs of the pineapple, Ananas comosus (L.) Merr." The article was published in the Botanical gazette, volume 110, number 2 (December 1948), pages 159-217.
Annexation of Hawaii: A Collection of Documents Digitized reports and debates from the late 19th and early 20th centuries on the overthrow of the Hawaiian kingdom and the annexation of Hawaiʻi. Contains Blount report, congressional debates on Hawaiʻi organic act, anti-annexation petition, anti-annexation protest documents, and related links.
Dakin Fire Insurance Maps Collection of fire insurance maps of downtown Honolulu from 1891 to 1906. Maps were created in sets covering the years 1891, 1899, and 1906. Use the browse date search to effectively go through this collection.
Filipino Workers in Hawaiʻi, 1926 Photographs from the Report on Hawaiian Sugar Plantations and Filipino Labor by Lt. Colonel Robert A. Duckworth-Ford, Aide-de-Camp to Governor-General of the Philippines Leonard Wood. The photographs show Filipino laborers and their relatives, fields and lands, water sources, plantation buildings, laborer housing and schools, store, hospital facility, labor officials. Also sugar cane planting and harvesting, cane processing equipment, cane transport.
Fitzharris Hawaiʻi Photo Album Album of photographs from the Margaret S. Fitzharris Trust. Photographs appear to date from the early 1900's. They may have been collected by Will[iam?] and Ella Skinner (see photograph 050) who may be "Mr. William E. Skinner, bookkeeper for the Hawaiian Electric Co. and Miss Eleanor M. Caywood lately of Somerset Ohio." Contains images of people, buildings, landscapes, and events in Hawaiʻi.
Georeferenced Hawaiʻi Historical Maps, 1897-1902 Maps include Hawaiʻi: Alexander 1901, Kauaʻi: "Newton 1901, Māuii: Alexander 1885, Molokaʻi: Alexander 1897, Niʻihau: Wall 1904, and Oʻahu: Alexander 1902.
Hawaiʻi Lantern Slides Collection of lantern slides that may have been used to by the Hawaiʻi Tourism Bureau to promote Hawaii tourism in the early 20th century. Most of the slides were unlabeled. Identification and additional information about images comes from library staff knowledge and the books Photographers of old Hawaiʻi by Joan Abramason and Hawaiian yesterdays: historical photographs by Ray Jerome Baker edited by Robert E. Van Dyke.
Hawaiʻi 1929-30: My First Trip to Hawaiʻi Scrapbook containing photographs taken in Hawaiʻi by Hazel Williams Gill between June 8, 1929 and June 21, 1930. Also contains other memorabilia of her Los Angeles-Hawaiʻi round-trip such as cruise ship menus and programs, map, passenger lists, postcards, telegram, and baggage tag. Additional photographs and newspaper clippings also added to scrapbook after the completion of the trip.
Hawaiʻi Topographic Quadrangles  Maps from 1910-2013 of all islands. Hawaiʻi island is divided in NW, NE, SW, and SE. These maps provide snapshot of physical and cultural features across the islands and the changes over time.
Hawaiian Kalo Varieties Collection of slide images and research material produced and gathered by Lisa Schattenburg-Raymond in 1983. Original material consists of a 3-ring binder of slides and text titled A Pictorial Illustration of Hawaiian Kalo Varieties at Lyon Arboretum with descriptions from Taro Varieties in Hawaiʻi.
Hawaiian Language Newspapers Selection of digitized Hawaiian language newspapers, serialized articles, scholarship about the newspapers, and related links. More newspapers can be found on nupepa.org and papakilodatabase.com.
Hawaiian Music Collection Collection of Hawaiian music recordings from collectors Dirk Vogel and James Cathro. Contains 78s, LPs, 45s, phonodiscs and cassettes. Access to complete audio recordings is restricted to University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa students, faculty, and staff for educational purposes. 30-second song previews available to public. 
Hawaiian Photo Albums Collection of black and white photographs of scenic sites and identifiable landmarks in Hawaiʻi. Images are from a variety of albums and scrapbooks.
Henry Warner's Hawaiʻi Photo Album: 1932-1943 Album was put together by Henry Warner while he served in the US Army at Schofield Barracks in what was then the Territory of Hawaiʻi. Commentary about the pictures is by his son, Gary.
Plants for Hawaiian Lei Slides of flowers, seeds, leaves, plants used in making Hawaiian lei donated by Jim Hollyer, Program Manager, Agricultural Development in the American Pacific (ADAP), College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources, University of Hawaiʻi
Save Our Surf (SOS) Collection consists of unpublished material from the SOS organization - an environmental, social, political, and cultural movement that contributed to the contemporary Hawaiian Sovereignty movement.

Pacific Digital Collections

Title Description
Creating Siapo: American Samoa 1967 Collection of eighteen 35mm slides, shot by Joan Griffis in 1967 depicting the process of making siapo, as bark-cloth is known in Samoa. Joan Griffis was recruited by the National Association of Broadcasters to work as an on-air teacher in American Samoa.
Douglas Oliver Bougainville Research Collection Collection of 35mm slides from Dr. Oliver, a research associate on the staff of the Harvard Peabody Museum of Ethnology and Archaeology. Between 1938 and 1939, Oliver conducted research on Bougainville, among the Siwai (a.k.a. Siuai) people. The majority of these images derive from that period,
George Grace Linguistic Research and Slides of Melanesia Collection of Melanesian field notes, photographs and related papers from Dr. George Grace, a professor emeritus at the University of Hawaiʻi-Mānoa, where he served on the faculty in the Department of Linguistics from 1964 until 1991.  Dr. Grace also shot a number of photographs, documenting a wide array of subjects within the regions of Hawaiʻi , Fiji, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea, Papua (a.k.a. West Papua/Irian Jaya) and the Solomon Islands.
Jack Tobin Marshall Islands Anthropology Jack Tobin first went to the Marshall Islands in 1950 to study the needs of atoll dwellers with limited resources and growing populations. Dr. Tobin extensively documented his time in Micronesia, both in written and photographic form. These images include not only the Marshalls, but also various atolls and islands throughout what was then the Trust Territory of the Pacific.
Margo Duggan Collection: Slides of Micronesia and Hawaiʻi, 1949-1954 Margo Duggan served in the United States Marine Corps in World War II, from 1943 through 1945. In late 1949 she began work as a civilian employee of the United States Trust Territories Administration. Between 1949 and 1954, she worked on or visited a number of locations in the Marshall, Mariana, and Caroline Islands, as well as in Hawaiʻi . Her photographs document an important moment in the history of Micronesia, as the various island nations emerged from the struggles of World War II and began the process of redefining their political status.
Nuclear Diaspora: Bikini and Enewetak The United States conducted more than eighty nuclear weapons tests on and around Bikini and Enewetak Atolls (Marshall Islands) between 1946 and 1958. The 878 images in this collection span the years from 1946-1988, and document the lives of Bikini and Enewetak islanders after they were relocated from their home islands as a result of these tests. The images derive from the anthropological fieldwork of Dr. Leonard "Leni" Mason and Dr. Robert Kiste, both of whom served as longtime faculty members at the University of Hawaiʻi -Mānoa.
Rapanui: the Edmunds/Bryan Photographs, 1904-1929 Henry P. Edmunds and William A. Bryan were both photographers who shared the experience of Rapanui, or Easter Island, during the early 1900s. Both of them took remarkable photographs documenting Rapanui's archeological wonders and everyday life, and some of these fascinating images are presented here.
Steve Thomas Traditional Micronesian Navigation Collection Collection of unpublished papers, audiovisual and photographic materials (including oral history transcripts and 35mm slides), publications and miscellaneous items related primarily to traditional navigation on the island of Satawal Island, Yap. 1866 color slides have been digitized.
Trust Territory Photo Archives The Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands included the Micronesian archipelagoes of the Marshalls, Carolines and Marianas during the U.S. administrative period from 1947 to 1994. The archive contains over 52,000 photographs and visually document nearly 50 years of the U.S. administration’s programs in education, health, political and economic development.
Trust Territory Survey Maps Scans from a collection of about 1,700 survey maps on microfiche. Many of the fiche are also surveyors notes (longitude/latitude etc.) that don't have an attached map with them. Surveyor notes and other related documents are found in eVols Land Maps of Trust Territory Districts and Government Structural Drawings.
War in the Pacific Images are from several distinct art and photograph collections held in the Pacific Collection; cover several geographic regions and time periods to document several different facets of war in the Pacific, from the brutal and the tragic to the mundane day-to-day existence of life in a war zone.