Research Guides: Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Department: Find Journal & Magazine Articles

Start Here

Many journal and magazine articles pertaining to Hawaiʻi and the Pacific are indexed in the databases on this page. Access to these databases, except for the Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index and Google Scholar, is restricted to UHM affiliates.

Journal & Magazine Article Databases (Indexes, Full-Text, Search Engine)

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)
HPJI is searchable in OneSearch. To search, click the link above, replace the "Hawaii" with your keywords, and then click "Search."
HPJI is a citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available.

Project Muse
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaiʻi Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

JSTOR
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI and VII collections, as well as Life Sciences collection. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Google Scholar
To set up Google Scholar to link to UH Manoa subscriptions, click on Settings in the upper right corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Library Links and search for Hawaiʻi. Select University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa - Full Text @ UH Mānoa and save your preferences. Make sure you're signed in to your Google account to remember your preferences on future visits.

Alt-Press Watch
Alt-PressWatch is a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Current coverage includes approximately 100 titles going back to 1995. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

Australasian Literature Online
Creative works from throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Starting in the 1930s and spanning up to the present, these in-copyright fictional and poetry works will be cross-searchable for the first time. With 120,000 pages at completion, and enriched with interviews, Australasian Literature is an incomparable resource for researchers in the fields of Literature, Creative Writing, Post-Colonial Studies, Immigration Studies, Social Studies, Anthropology and more.

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.