Research Guides: Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Department: Find Newspaper Articles

Start Here

The resources listed on this page will help you find newspaper articles published mostly in Honolulu in either Hawaiian or English between 1834-1969 and 1989-now. Each database has different coverage and provides a citation or the full-text of the article. If the full-text is not available online, you will need to find the article on microfilm. Use the Pacific Islands Newspapers guide to find newspaper articles published throughout the Pacific. Use the Newspapers in Hawaiʻi guide to find more newspapers published in Hawaiʻi.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I find Hawaiʻi newspaper articles published between 1970-1988?
more...less...
Use the print indexes of the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin. Once you have identified articles you want, you will then need to find them on microfilm since newspaper articles published between these dates are not freely available online.
How can I find Hawaiʻi newspapers published in languages other than Hawaiian or English or published in a specific location?
more...less...
Use Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers in Hawaiʻi, 1834-2000. This guide will allow you to search for Hawaiʻi newspapers published in different languages and in different locations. Many of these newspapers will be in our library's microfilm collection.
How can I find and access newspaper articles on the microfilms?
more...less...
First, find the newspaper microfilm call number by looking in the library's catalog Voyager. Second, go to the microfilm room located on the first floor of the library to find the microfilm reels. Once you find the microfilm reels, there are digital readers to view and make digital copies of articles. You will need to bring an external drive to save the files.

Index Newspaper Databases

Bob Krauss Research Index (Hawaii Newspapers Index)
The Bob Krauss Research Index is an index of English-language newspaper content from Hawaii, covering 1840 through 1944. It is not comprehensive but covers periods of time for which there is no formal indexing. Includes links to online copies of newspapers, where available.

Index to the Honolulu advertiser and Honolulu star-bulletin. by Hawaii State Library
Call Number: AI21.H6 I5
In print
1929-1967 indexed together in 5 volumes.
1968-1990 indexed annually in separate volumes.

Online
1929-1967 available online here.
1989-current available online here. (Hawaii Newspaper Index database)
Not full-text, citations only. Once you find an article citation, you will have to go to the microfilm for the actual content or the article.

Full-Text Newspaper Databases

Chronicling America
Find full-text articles from historic Hawaiʻi and U.S. newspapers, between 1836-1922. This database allows you to do a full-text search. If you are retrieving a large set of results, narrow down the dates you selected to five or less years. Be sure to select Hawaii as the state and do a proximity search.
Click here for a list of Hawaiʻi titles and dates available.

Honolulu record by Koji Ariyoshi
Call Number: AN2 .H65
Publication Date: 1948-1958
Also on Microfilm: MICROFILM S90146
Available online via the Center for Labor Education & Research. The Search box retrieves search results but the links do not work. To get to the articles, take note of the issues' volumes and numbers, click the "back" button and browse your way to the issue through the "Honolulu Record Index" link.
Offered "investigative, crusading journalism that attacked the Establishment for racism, 1st amendment infractions, police brutality, improper political fundraising, sub-standard plantation housing" (from Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers of Hawaiʻi).

Honolulu Star Advertiser
Find full-text articles from the Honolulu Star--Advertiser and its former titles, the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1996 to present. This database is only for UH Mānoa affiliates.
Papakilo's Nūpepa Search
Collection of digitized Hawaiian language from 1843-1948 and more contemporary Hawaiian-related newspapers such as OHA's newsletter, Ka Wai Ola o OHA.