Skip to main content

Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Department: Gift Guidelines

Gifting to the Collections

Thank you for considering a gift to the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. Our collections have been enriched greatly over the years through your generous gifts of materials and funds. 

Types of Gifts

Monetary Gifts
Monetary gifts may be made through the University of Hawaiʻi Foundation. Please visit the Support Our Work page for details on how you can make a monetary gift.

Material Gifts
If you wish to donate any Hawaiʻi or Pacific related publications such as books or journals, please e-mail hawnpac@hawaii.edu and your message will be forwarded to the appropriate librarian. In order to help the librarian evaluate your materials, please provide in your e-mail a list of publications that includes author, title, edition, publication date and the condition of the material.

For donations of Hawaiʻi or Pacific related unpublished materials such as personal papers, photographs, archives or manuscripts, please e-mail hawnpac@hawaii.edu and your message will also be forwarded to the appropriate librarian. In your message, please include a description of the materials.

About Material Gifts

As you decide whether or not to gift to our collections, please note the following. We are interested in materials that fit within our collection development policies and will enhance and enrich our collections. We reserve the right to decline gifts that do not fit the needs of the collection. Gifts of books and materials are considered a Gift of Kind. They are tangible items and once donated can either be used by the university or offered to an outside party. The library reserves the right to determine retention, location, maintenance, and other considerations related to its use. 

Like gifts of cash and securities, a Gift in Kind may qualify as a charitable contribution allowing donors to receive the benefit of such. Please consult a knowledgeable tax expert for specific questions regarding charitable deductions for Gifts in Kind. Valuation is the reasonability of the donor. Federal and State regulations prevent us from making a monetary appraisal of your gift. Upon request we will issue a receipt of acknowledgement describing the quantity and type of materials donated to the library. However, we cannot compile a detailed list of donated materials or at a later date provide a precise reconstruction of the contents of a gift for tax purposes.