Skip to Main Content

Philippines: Cebuano Language, Literature, History, Arts & Culture

Identity, Philippine History, Culture and Connections, Filipinos in Hawaii and the U.S., Philippines in an interconnected world and Community Engagement and Civic Action

Southeast Asia Digital Library

Historical Archives and Photographs: Cebuano Studies Center, Philippines

In May 2007 Filipino librarians gathered at the University of San Carlos to learn about digitization techniques in a workshop led by Carla Montori, recently retired from the University of Michigan Libraries. The materials available are the product of these participants' efforts in this workshop.

Historical photographs selected from the Cebuano Studies collection at the library of University of San Carlos depict the landscape and people of the Philippines from late 19th century through the 1970s.

Selected masters' thesis from the Filipiniana collection at the library of University of San Carlos, Cebu City, Philippines (with bibliographic information of the theses available in the online catalog of University of San Carlos Library) are also included.

Cebuano Language and Literature

 

Language

 

  1. Bunye, M., & Yap, E. (1971). Cebuano grammar notes. University of Hawaii Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9912100334605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia PL5649 .B8

  1. Bunye, M., & Yap, E. (2019). Cebuano for beginners. University Press of Hawaii. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9910811292205681 

Available online through JSTOR: https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctv9hvsw7 

  1. Wolff, J. (1967). Beginning Cebuano. Yale University Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma994648534605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia PL5649 .W6 

  1. Nelson, A. (1964). An introduction to Cebuano. Rotary Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma996777084605682 

Location:  Hamilton Asia PL5623 .N44

  1. Latorre, L. (1993). Philippine travel phrase book: English, Tagalog, Cebuano . Tahanan Pacific. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9911443084605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia Reference (Library Use Only) PL6055 .L38 1993  

 

Dictionaries 

 

  1. Trosdal, M. (1990). Formal-functional Cebuano-English dictionary : with an English-Cebuano lexicon. Published by M.B. Trosdal with a grant by the Curia Generalitia, Societatis Verbi Divini, Roma, Italia. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9916075514605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia Reference (Library Use Only) PL5649.4 .T7 1990 

  1. Wolff, J. (1972). A dictionary of Cebuano Visayan. Southeast Asia Program, Cornell University. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma993348044605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia Reference (Library Use Only) PL5649.4 .W6

  1. Zorc, R. (1987). Cebuano newspaper reader: easy to intermediate readings (1st ed.). Dunwoody. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9915881434605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia PL5649.2 .Z67 1987

  1. Enriquez, M., Bautista, J., & Jamolangue, F. (2001). English-Tagalog, Visayan, Cebuano-Ilongo vocabulary: pocket dictionary (2001 ed.). Marren Publ. House. 

Location: Hamilton Asia PL5626 .E57 2001 https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9921696724605682  

  1. Kintanar-Alburo, E. (2009). Dictionary of Bisayan arts : Cebuano-Hiligaynon-Waray. National Commission for Culture and the Arts. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9929712524605682 

  2. Matthews, P. (2014). Cebuano. In The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics. Oxford University Press. http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199675128.001.0001/acref-9780199675128-e-467  https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/1rbop20/oxford_reference10.1093%252Facref%252F9780199675128.013.0467 

  1. Yap, E., & Bunye, M. (1971). Cebuano-Visayan dictionary. University of Hawaii Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9919182914605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia Reference (Library Use Only) PL5649.Z5 Y28 

  1. Nelson, A. (n.d.). Basic Cebuano-English and English-Cebuano vocabulary. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma996777094605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia Reference (Library Use Only) PL5623 .N442 

  1. Ruijter, J. (n.d.). Cebuano-English dictionary. Sacred Heart Seminary. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma996777144605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia Reference (Library Use Only) PL5649 .R85 

 

Literature 

 

  1. Kintanar-Alburo, E. (2002). Tigmo ug sanglitanan: Cebuano riddles & proverbs. Cebuano Studies Center, University of San Carlos. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9922931424605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia PN6377.P49 T54 2002 

  1. Kintanar-Alburo, E. (1988). Cebuano poetry = Sugboanong balak. Cebuano Studies Center, University of San Carlos. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma995701894605682 

Location: Hamilton  Asia PL5649.7 .C43 1988 

  1. Pagusara, D., Kintanar-Alburo, E., & Mojares, R. (1997). Dulaang Cebuano. Atenes de Manila University Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9917860004605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia PL 5649.6 .D289 1997 

  1. Kintanar-Alburo, E. (2009). Cebuano fiction = Sugilanong Sugboanon. Ateneo de Manila University Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9933767494605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia PL5649.6 .C43 2009 

  1. Kintanar-Alburo, E. (1993). Panulaang Cebuano: kalakip ang orihinal na Cebuano. Ateneo de Manila University Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9917185314605682 Location: Hamilton PL5649.6 .P37 1993 

  2. Kintanar-Alburo, E. (1977). Cebuano folktales. San Carlos Publications, University of San Carlos. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma998511244605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia GR326.C4 C38 

  1. Pinzon, J. (2003). Blue to olango and other poems in English and Cebuano. National Commission for Culture and the Arts. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9924233964605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia PL5649.6 .P56 2003 

  1. Abad, A., & Ramas, W. (1996). Magda: a three-act play. Office of Research Coordination, University of the Philippines. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9917489744605682 

Location: Hamilton Asia PL5649.6 .A273 1996 

  1. Adlawan, T. (2012). Kay dili buta ang gugma ug ubang sugilanon = Because love is not blind and other stories. NCCA. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9939418044605682 

 

Free online Sources 

 

 

  1. http://learn101.org/cebuano.php

    1. Includes grammar, 500 popular words and vocabulary for each part of speech to help with cebuano language learning

    2. Has pictures next to vocab words for visual learning

    3. Has audio category, but no means to access it (maybe broken link)

    4. Not divided into lessons

  2. https://utalk.com/en/store/cebuano 

    1. Subscription only at $5.99 a month 

    2. Ability to record your voice to practice speaking

    3. Features real male and female cebuano speakers 

    4. Game based learning

  3. https://app.memrise.com/course/651485/learn-basic-cebuano-bisaya/ 

    1. Divided into subjects such as greetings, romance, shopping and common sayings

    2. Instead of vocabulary, more like phrases that would go with each category

    3. Limited topics; only those listed above

  4. http://ilanguages.org/cebuano.php 

    1. Mostly the same as learn 101

    2. Consists of more common phrases

  5. https://cudoo.com/products/languages/cebuano/learn-cebuano-online-level-1/ 

    1. $24.99 per online course 

    2. Includes assessments 

  6. https://hs2.dliflc.edu/index.html?Cebuano 

    1. Language learning course catered for military use


 

Cebuano History, Arts and Culture

 

History 

 

Print

  1. Local history newsletter (Cebu, Philippines). (1979). Cebuano Studies Center, University of San Carlos. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9919428114605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia (Library Use Only) DS651 .L62 

  2. Miller. (2010). Glimpses of old Cebu : images of the colonial era. University of San Carlos Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9936943314605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia Folio DS688.C4 M55 2010 

  3. Mojares. (1999). The war against the Americans : resistance and collaboration in Cebu, 1899-1906. Ateneo de Manila University Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9917961474605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton  Asia DS688 .C4 M64 1999 

  4. Kintanar-Alburo. (2001). Sumad : essays for the centennial of the revolution in Cebu. De La Salle University Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9921684804605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia DS688.C4 A42 2001

  5. Montebon. (2000). Retracing our roots : a journey into Cebu’s precolonial and colonial past. ES Villaver Pub. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9922542994605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia DS688.C4 M67 2000 

  6. Cuizon. (2009). The Cebu we know. Published and exclusively distributed by Anvil Publishing. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9951061138705682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia PR9550.85.C4 C43 2009 

  7. Fenner. (1985). Cebu under the Spanish flag, 1521-1896 : an economic-social history. San Carlos Publications, University of San Carlos. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9915019154605682 

  8. Briones. (1970). City of Cebu; from fishing village to metropolis. Office of the Mayor. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma995183504605682

    1. Location:  Asia DS689.C6 B74 

  9. Sy. (1979). The anti-Spanish revolution in Cebu : with a short history of Cebu, 1500-1897. The Ministry of Public Information Region 7. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma998702474605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia Folio DS688.C4 S9 

  10. Quisumbing. (1983). The American occupation of Cebu : Warwick barracks, 1899-1917. J.R. Quisumbing. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma999797234605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia DS688.C4 Q557 1983

  11. Mojares, & Quimpo, S. F. (1997). Cebu : more than an island. Ayala Foundation. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9918952114605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia DS688.C4 C43 1997

  12. Resil B. Mojares [and four others], edited by J. Eleazar R. Bersales, & foreword by Ino Manalo. (2015). The war in Cebu. University of San Carlos Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/1rbop20/cdi_jndl_porta_oai_iss_ndl_go_jp_R100000002_I028067679_00 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia Folio D767.4 .M65 2015 

  13. Villanueva. (1965). The Cebu celebration : fourth centennial of the Christianization of the Philippines : third National Eucharistic Congress [April 28-May 2, 1965]. Publisher not identified. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma995236854605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Special Asia Closed Shelves Folio BR1260 .N38 1965

  14. Mercado. (1965). Cebu through the centuries. Printed by Cebu Star Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma998585834605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia Folio DS689.C5 M55 

  15. Alix, Rebayla, G., & Alix, R. G. (2013). Hikay: the culinary heritage of Cebu. University of San Carlos Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9951063858405682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia TX724.5.P5 A45 2013 

 

UHM Database 

 

EBSCOhost

  1. Peterson, J. A. (2013). Landscape evolution in Cebu, Central Philippines: the impact of sea level, social history, and tectonism on archaeological landscapes. Asian Perspectives , 52(2), 190–212.

    1. Direct link: http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bas&AN=BAS936018&site=ehost-live 

  2. Gerra, J. B. (2013). An Ethnoarchaeological Study of the Blacksmithing Technology in Cebu Island, Philippines. Peter Lang GmbH, Internationaler Verlag der Wissenschaften.

    1. Direct link: http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=542546&site=ehost-live 

  3. Cullinane, M. (2016). A time between times: situating the 1815 uprising in Cebu. Philippine Quarterly of Culture and Society , 44, 211–300. 

    1. Direct link: http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bas&AN=BAS940563&site=ehost-live 

 

 

Arts

 

Print

  1. Mojares. (1978). The Writers of Cebu : an anthology of prize-winning stories. Filipinas Foundation. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma998732374605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia PR9550.8.S5 W74 

Online

  1. Dennis E. Montera, & Hui-Wen Lin. (2018). Peripheral Realities: Visual Artists in Cebu, Philippines. Journal of Literature and Art Studies, 8(9). https://doi.org/10.17265/2159-5836/2018.09.007 https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/1rbop20/cdi_crossref_primary_10_17265_2159_5836_2018_09_007

    1. Direct link to pdf: http://www.davidpublisher.org/Public/uploads/Contribute/5ba3259e2d9e3.pdf 

 

UHM Database

 

Nexus Uni

  1. Coke holds art tilt in Cebu. (2007). BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4MRC-T5N0-TX4W-225W-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. Giselle P. Kasilag. (2000). Cebu kicks off three-month arts fest. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:411G-VCP0-00JS-92KJ-00000-00&context=1516831.

  3.  Exequiel Molina. (1998). Notes; Angono artists in Cebu. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:3W95-J4B0-00JS-93XS-00000-00&context=1516831. 

 

Society

 

Print

  1. Sidel. (1999). Capital, coercion, and crime : bossism in the Philippines. Stanford University Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9918042244605682 

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia JS7303.A2. S55 1999 

  2. Quisumbing. (1965). Marriage customs in rural Cebu. University of San Carlos. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma997131564605682  

    1. Location: Hamilton Asia GT2781 .Q85

 

Online

 

  1. Ramalho. (2021). Hope, home and insecurity: Gendered labours of resilience among the urban poor of Metro Cebu, the Philippines. Environment and Planning. D, Society & Space, 39(5), 844–862. https://doi.org/10.1177/0263775820959337 https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/1rbop20/cdi_crossref_primary_10_1177_0263775820959337 

    1. Direct link to pdf: https://libkey.io/libraries/2283/articles/413095090/full-text-file?utm_source=api_1211 

  2. Adair, Carba, D. B., Lee, N. R., & Borja, J. B. (2021). Stunting, IQ, and final school attainment in the Cebu Longitudinal Health and Nutrition Survey birth cohort. Economics and Human Biology, 42, 100999–100999. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ehb.2021.100999 

    1. Direct link to pdf: https://libkey.io/libraries/2283/articles/457749905/full-text-file?utm_source=api_1211 

  3. Gettler, Kuo, P. X., Rosenbaum, S., Avila, J. L., McDade, T. W., & Kuzawa, C. W. (2019). Sociosexuality, testosterone, and life history status: prospective associations and longitudinal changes among men in Cebu, Philippines. Evolution and Human Behavior, 40(2), 249–258. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.evolhumbehav.2018.11.001 

    1. Direct link to pdf: https://libkey.io/libraries/2283/articles/244920862/full-text-file?utm_source=api_1211 

  4. Colchero, & Bishai, D. (2012). Weight and earnings among childbearing women in Metropolitan Cebu, Philippines (1983–2002). Economics and Human Biology, 10(3), 256–263. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ehb.2011.04.002 https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/1rbop20/cdi_elsevier_sciencedirect_doi_10_1016_j_ehb_2011_04_002 

    1. Direct link to pdf: https://libkey.io/libraries/2283/articles/14788126/full-text-file?utm_source=api_1211 

  5. Undurraga, Edillo, F. E., Erasmo, J. N. V., Alera, M. T. P., Yoon, I.-K., Largo, F. M., & Shepard, D. S. (2017). Disease Burden of Dengue in the Philippines: Adjusting for Underreporting by Comparing Active and Passive Dengue Surveillance in Punta Princesa, Cebu City. The American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 96(4), 887–898. https://doi.org/10.4269/ajtmh.16-0488 https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/1rbop20/cdi_pubmed_primary_28093542

    1. Direct link to pdf: https://europepmc.org/articles/pmc5392638?pdf=render 

  6. CHEN, BAO, L., LIN, Z., ZIMMER, Z., GULTIANO, S., & BORJA, J. B. (2018). Double burden for women in mid- and later life: evidence from time-use profiles in Cebu, the Philippines. Ageing and Society, 38(11), 2325–2355. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0144686X17000599 https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/1rbop20/cdi_pubmedcentral_primary_oai_pubmedcentral_nih_gov_6587579 

    1. Direct link to pdf: https://europepmc.org/backend/ptpmcrender.fcgi?accid=PMC6587579&blobtype=pdf 

  7. Gipson, Hicks, A. L., & Gultiano, S. A. (2014). Gendered Differences in the Predictors of Sexual Initiation Among Young Adults in Cebu, Philippines. Journal of Adolescent Health, 54(5), 599–605. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jadohealth.2013.10.014 

    1. Direct link to pdf: https://libkey.io/libraries/2283/articles/48652439/full-text-file?utm_source=api_1211 

 

UHM Database

  1. ESPIA, J. C., GERA, W., & HALL, R. A. (2021). Local Adaptations to Central Government Shortcomings: COVID-19 Responses in the Cities of Iloilo and Cebu, Philippines. Contemporary Southeast Asia: A Journal of International & Strategic Affairs, 43(1), 53–62.

    1. Direct link: http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=150621490&site=ehost-live 

  2. Hock, R. S., Mendelson, T., Surkan, P. J., Bass, J. K., Bradshaw, C. P., & Hindin, M. J. (2018). Parenting styles and emerging adult depressive symptoms in Cebu, the Philippines. Transcultural Psychiatry, 55(2), 242–260. https://doi.org/10.1177/1363461517748813 

    1. Direct link: https://doi-org.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/10.1177%2F1363461517748813 



 

UH Seal

An equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Use of this site implies consent with our Usage Policy.

Terms of Use | UH System | UH Mānoa

Quick Links

© University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library