Philippines: Filipino Curriculum Project

Please note, that this guide lists the basic resources and does not contain all of the materials for research.  For additional resources and help, please use One Search Manoa below or get in touch with the Asia Collection at Hamilton Library, University of Hawai'i.   

Search Here

click the green box

Filipino Curriculum Project Evols Repository Includes digitized articles and materials selected for this project. If you want to be included in the Google Shared Drive, kindly contact Elena Clariza (mclariza@hawaii.edu), Philippine Studies Librarian at Hamilton Library. Access to this drive is only available to the Filipino Curriculum Project participants. 

Filipinos in Hawaii Bibliography

Southeast Asia Digital Library Provides links to general information on the Philippines that are freely accessible. 

Honolulu Museum of Art Lending Collection The Lending Collection is a circulating “library” of art and artifacts that educators across the state can borrow for use in classrooms for hands-on, object-based learning.

UB-ufok Ad Fiallig: Tales of Enchantment from Barlig, Philippines, Teaching Module Project                                                                                                                                                  

10 Teaching modules based on 10 original digital comic books narrating the oral traditions of the Ifiallig people of the Mountain Province in the Philippines.

Pamana ng Lahi 

Teaching Modules & Resources on Philippine Languages and Cultures

Borrowing Privileges and Access – University of Hawaii Manoa Library 

DOE teachers fall under State Agencies and get two cards per school.  These cards have community member privileges, which means that DOE teachers can check out physical materials but have no access to UH-Manoa's proprietary online access to e-resources unless they come to Hamilton Library and use the two library computers adjacent to the CLIC lab. Their respective schools must agree to this and monitor who uses the card and who is ultimately responsible for lost or damaged materials. Please contact the Hamilton Library's Circulation Department to register for a card and for more information. This information is accurate as of September 2024. 

Filipino students and community members in front of the sail they designed at

Farrington High School in Honolulu

https://fobproject.wordpress.com/

Sailing Into Our Past and Future: Maritime Southeast Asian and Pacific Canoes And Our Integral Relationship with the Ocean - Curriculum

Overview

“Sailing into our Past and Future” embraces a cultural-based science and social science curriculum. Its aim is to teach students to think critically and reflect on their personal histories and their place while learning about the canoes of Maritime Southeast Asia (Philippines and Indonesia) and the Pacific. The first half of the unit takes students into the maritime world of the Austronesian people. The second half engages students in challenging and authentic learning experiences. Through field observations and research, students form a deeper understanding and appreciation of their environment. Students tackle a complex real world problem by designing a prototype of a canoe. The final portion of the unit challenges students to reflect and think critically about culture, migration, and colonization.

Culture in transit: Philippines  Part I (Curriculum & Lending Object Kit- Honolulu Museum of Art) & Part 2 Gallery Walk

OVERVIEW
The Philippines is a diverse country made up of over 7,000 islands. There are many ethnicities or types of people in the Philippines, and over 150 languages are spoken there. Over the years, many people have left the Philippines for different reasons and flew or sailed across the Pacific Ocean to discover new lands. One out of every four people in Hawai‘i is of Filipino or part-Filipino ancestry.
This culture-based social studies curriculum is about migration, or the movement of people across borders. It aims to teach students how to use art to think critically and reflect on their personal histories and their place, while learning about the Philippines. It engages students in a challenging and authentic learning experience while answering the questions

Where did we come from?
How have we traveled?
What did we bring with us?

Philippine Boats and Navigation - Bibliography

This page serves as a bibliography with sources on traditional Philippine boats, boat-building, navigation as well as indigenous maritime cultures.  These sources are either available at Hamilton Library or on the internet.  If an item is available at Hamilton Library, click on the link to access the item's bibliographic record.  For items not available online or at Hamilton Library, please contact the Interlibrary Loan office.  

• Archives - Philippine Revolutionary Papers (1898-1900)

Includes letters in Spanish and Tagalog with English translations and Ilokano, military orders and official government programs and invitations during the Philippine Revolution (1896-1898) and the Philippine American War (1899-1902). https://evols.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/items/f0d4e95d-d91c-41c3-97e2-5d335698143a

• Philippine History Bibliography
• Philippine Nation Building & Philippines during WWII
• Papers of the Underground Movement During the Marcos Regime (Philippine Radical Papers of the Marcos Regime)

This collection consists of over 16,000 scanned pages from 250 newsletters, newspapers, journals, letters, and other ephemera written in the Philippines and the United States. The contents of this collection are made publicly available for purposes of research, education, and private study. The Martial Law in the Philippines, declared by then-President Ferdinand Marcos on September 21, 1972, marked a significant period in the country’s history. It was characterized by the suspension of civil liberties, media censorship, and the concentration of power in the hands of the government.

The Spratly Island and Paracel Islands

Map covers the Paracel Islands and Spratly Islands. Also shows territorial claims at disputed areas by the surrounding countries: China, Philippines, Vietnam, Malaysia, and Taiwan.

1734, Murillo Velarde, Pedro, 1696-1753 & Bagay, Nicolás de la Cruz, 1701, Maps - Carta Hydrographica Y Chorographica de las Yslas Filipinas Dedicada al Rey

Shows names of coastal towns and historical sailing routes.
In lower portion of map: Le esculpio Nicolas de la Cruz Bagay ... 1734.
Includes text, descriptive notes, ancillary maps of Guam, cities of Manila, Cavite, and Zamboanga, and illustrations depicting episodes from the daily life of different peoples on the islands.
Available also through the Library of Congress Web site as a raster image.

• Geological Map of the Philippines, 1963  9

  Military Survey of Luzon, 1906-1917  62

• Philippine Islands, 1930-1936  17