University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Philippines: Colonial Mentality

General Information

Books found at Hamilton Library


"Brown skin, white minds : Filipino-/ American postcolonial psychology (with commentaries) = Kayumanggi balat, puti isip" by E.J.R. David (2013). UH Manoa: Asia Collection [E184.F4 D38 2013 ]

"Education and Colonialism" by Philip G. Altbach, Gail Paradise Kelly (1978). UH Manoa: Asia Collection [LC3719 .E36 ]

"Filipino-American postcolonial psychology : oppression, colonial mentality, and decolonization" by E.J.R. David (2011). UH Manoa: Asia Collection [E184.F4 N33 2009 ]

"Filipino American psychology : a handbook of theory, research, and clinical practice" by Kevin L. Nadal (2009). UH Manoa: Asia Collection [E184.F4 N33 2009 ]

"On their own : midwifing a post-colonial Philippine-American relationship" by Lewis E. Gleeck (1998). UH Manoa: Asia Collection
[E 183.8 .P6 G542 1998 ]

"Protestant missionaries in the Philippines, 1898-1916 : an inquiry into the American colonial mentality" by Kenton J. Clymer (1986). UH Manoa: Asia Collection [BV3380 .C58 1986 ]
 
"The "other" students : Filipino Americans, education, and power" by Dina C. Maramba, Rick Bonus (2013). UH Manoa: Asia Collection [LC3301 .O84 2013 ]


Journal Articles



"A Colonial Mentality Model of Depression for Filipino Americans" by E.J.R. David, Nagayama Hall, and Gordon G. in Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology vol.14, no.2 (2008): 118-127

"A Culturally Competent Classroom for Filipino Americans" by Kevin L. Nadal in Multicultural Perspectives vol.10, no.3 (2008): 155-161

"A Tradition of Reconfiguring the Filipino Child" by Anna Katrina Gutierrez in International Research in Children's Literature vol.2, no.2 (2009): 159-176

"Activation and Automaticity of Colonial Mentality" by E.J.R. David and Sumie Okazaki in Journal of Applied Psychology vol.40, no.4 (2010): 850-887


"America colonial: denominaciones, clasificaciones e identidades" by Kathryn Burns in Hispanic American Historical Review vol.93, no.2 (2013): 291


"Assumptions of Asian American Similarity: The Case of Filipino and Chinese American Students" by Pauline Agbayani-Siewart in Social Work vol. 49, no.1 (2004): 39-51

"Beating the colonial beasts at their game" by Nestor U. Torre in Philippine Daily Inquirer (April 28, 2012)

"Best practices to manage migration: the Philippines.(Conference Note)" by Philip Martin, Manolo Abella, and Elizabeth Midgley
in 
International Migration Review vol.38, no.4 (Winter, 2004): 1544

"Book Review: Protestant Missionaries in the Philippines, 1898-1916: An Inquiry into the American Colonial Mentality" by J.W. Cason in Missiology: An International Review vol.18, no.3 (1990): 355

"Carlos Bulosan, Filipino Writer-Activist: Between a Time of Terror and the Time of Revolution" by E. San Juan in CR: The New Centennial Review vol.8, no.1 (2008): 103-134

"Colonial Discourse and the Writings of Katherine Mayo" by Christinaa Joseph and Anandamp Kavoori in American Journalism vol. 24, no.3 (2007): 55-84

"Colonial Mentality: A Review and Recommendation for Filipino American Psychology" by E.J.R. David, Sumie Okazaki, Nagayama Hall, and Gordon G. in Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology vol.12, no.1 (2006): 1-16

"Colonial oppression, labour importation, and group formation: Filipinos in the United States" by Yen Le Espiritu in Ethnic and Racial Studies vol.19, no.1 (1996): 29-48

"Concerning Constructions of Self and Other: Auto-racism and Imagining Amerika in the Christian Philippines" by Hannah C.M. Bulloch in Anthropological Forum vol. 23, no.3: 221-241

"Contemporary Global Capitalism and the Challenge of the Filipino Diaspora" by E. San Juan in Global Society vol.25, no.1 (2011): 7-27

"Cultural Mistrust and Mental Health Help-Seeking Attitudes Among Filipino Americans" by E.J.R. David in Asian American Journal of Psychology vol.1, no.1 (2010): 57-66

"José Nepomuceno and the creation of a Filipino national consciousness" by Nadi Tofighian in Film History: An International Journal vol.20, no.1 (2008): 77-94

"Liberating Filipino Americans through Decolonizing Curriculum" by Patricia Espiritu Halagao in Race, Ethnicity, and Religion vol.13, no.4 (2010): 495-512

"Negative effects of colonial mentality" by Nestor U. Torre in Asia Africa Intelligence Wire (October 21, 2003)


"Racial microaggressions and the Filipino American experience: recommendations for counseling and development.(Report)" by Kevin L. Nadal, Kara Mia Vigilia Escobar, Gail T. Prado, E.J.R. David, and Kristal Haynes in Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development vol.40, no.3 (July 2012): 18

"The Colonial Context of Filipino American Immigrants’ Psychological Experiences" by E.J.R. David, Kevin L. Nadal, Michael A. Zarate, Nadine Nakamura, and Pratyusha Tummala-narra in Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology vol. 19, no.3 (2013): 298-309

"The Colonial Mentality Scale (CMS) for Filipino Americans: Scale Construction and Psychological Implications" by E.J.R. David and Sumie Okazaki in Journal of Counseling Psychology vol. 53, no.2 (2006): 241-252

"The Mis-education of the Filipino" by Vintage Constantino in Journal of Contemporary Asia vol.30, no.3 (2000): 428-444


"The social-invisibility narrative in filipino-american feature films" by Elizabeth H. Pisares in Positions vol.19, no.2 (2011): 421

"University in Philippines Designates 'English Only Zones'.(Brief article)" by Martha Ann Overland in The Chronicle of Higher Education vol.51, no.5 


Websites

Don W. "Bollywood, Beauty, and Colonial Mentality."

Everything2.com "Colonial Mentality"

Bert Drona "THE FILIPINO MIND: Colonial Mentality, "Damaged Culture," IMSCF of Filipinos: Its Roots"

Jon E. Royeca "Colonial Mentality"

mtholyoke.edu "Filipinos in the Philippines"

Pilipino Historical Dialogue: Winter 2010 "Filipino American Identity & Colonial Mentality"

Maris Cay Gabornes "Learning Fragments: Colonial Mentality: A Filipino Heritage?"

M.N. Francisco and F.M.C. Arriola "Signs of Colonial Mentality"

Chris Kortnight "Colonization and Identity"

Elaine Marie Laforteza "Skin Routes - The Racialized Contours of Filipino Flesh | Peril Magazine."

Carla Lapeña "Dissecting the Pinoy white skin obsession."

Thesigan Nadarajan "Colonial Mentality Syndrome: Description and Implications."

Angela Stuart-Santiago "Colonial mentality and the Philippine future"

E. San Juan Jr. "Philippines under the neo-colonial boot."