University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Okinawan Studies: Genealogy/Family Crests

This guide to introduce you to resources on Okinawa and Ryukyu.

Ancestor Search

Helpful Services for Family Genealogy Research for Individuals

Okinawa Genealogical Society of Hawaii (OGSH) in Hawai‘i and Okinawa Prefectural Library launched a service to help individuals to find the roots of their ancestors.

  • Inquiries in English

Okinawa Genealogical Society of Hawaii (OGSH)

Address:

C/O Hawaii United Okinawa Association
94-587 Ukee Street
Waipahu, HI 96797 USA

Phone: 808-676-5400 (country code +1)

  • Inquiries in Japanese (or English)

Okinawa Prefectural Library's First Generation Immigration Genealogical Reference Service

 

Okinawan Family Crests

  • Okinawan Family Crests / 沖縄の家紋  (JPN version; the linked page is a cache; crests are visible, but the site itself is no longer maintained as of November 2016.)
    • This database is provided by Okinawa Joho Kyoku / Okinawa 情報局 and contains total 267 Okinawan family crests with explanation.

             image of family crests

 

other Useful Links

Genealogy

  • Ryukyu Genealogy / 琉球家譜  (JPN version)
    • This database is a part of Okinawa rekishi bunken database / 沖縄歴史文献データベース, created by the University of Tsukuba Library. The base of this database is Okinawa no rekishi joho / 沖縄の歴史情報 was created by Prof. Hiroyuki Iwasaki (岩崎宏之教授).
    • It contains Shuri / 首里系, Naha, Tomari / 那覇・泊系 , and Kumemura kafu / 久米村系家譜.
  • Ryukyu Genealogy Database / 琉球家譜目録データベース  (JPN version)
    • This database is created by Takashi Uezato (上里 隆史), a researcher of Ryukyu history, and developed by Miki Watanabe (渡辺美李), a prof. of the Kanagawa University.
    • It contains Uji shu gai kafu / [氏集]外家譜.
  • (Okinawa) Kennai Shi-Cho-Son-Aza shi kyōdō shōzō mokuroku / (沖縄)県内市町字史(誌)共同所蔵目録 (JPN only)
    • A list of local history books housed in city, town, village offices in Okinawa. Linked page has a 61-page long PDF, complied by Okinawa Prefectural Library.