Skip to main content

Okinawan Studies: Home

This guide to introduce you to resources on Okinawa and Ryukyu.

Welcome / Mensōre / めんそーれ / Aloha

Image of Shuri Castle in Okinawa

(Shuri Castle / 首里城正殿)

 

Okinawan Studies Library Guide (LibGuides) has been developed to support your research on Okinawa &  Ryukyus / 沖縄・琉球 at the UHM Library. Sources with "UHM Only" notation means that you  need to log in the UHM Library system with your UHM username and password to use the sources. Hope you will find the information of a wide range of resources on Okinawa/Ryukyus helpful.

To use the Okinawa Special Collection, please make an appointment with Okinawa Studies Librarian by email. At least 2 week advance notice is needed.

Quick Links

Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog
Image of a voyager logo
 
 One Search Manoa 
Image of one search manoa

Japan Studies LibGuides
Logo of Lib Guides
 
Okinawa Collection (Blog) 
Okinawa Collection Blog

UHM Library Okinawa Collection
:
As of July 12, 2017 (HST), the site is under construction (unavailable).
New site will be announced soon.
 
Okinawa Special Collection

 
UHM Center for Okinawan Studies
Center for Okinawan Studies

UHM Center for Japan Studies

Center for Japanese Studies

Scholarships & Conferences

2018 AAS Annual conference Registration & Housing Now Open

The Association for Asian Studies 2018 Annual Conference is scheduled to take place March 22-25, 2018 in Washington, DC.

Conference pre-registration and housing are now open. To view conference registration rates and to book a hotel room at the official conference hotel, please click the button below to go directly to the 2018 AAS conference website.


The AAS will select ten (10) graduate students by random draw to receive a complimentary 2018 conference registration. Click here for Student Registration Lottery Details.


Nakasone Student Travel Award (up to $1000), deadline Feb. 1, 2018
The Center for Okinawan Studies is accepting applications from students for its Nakasone Student Travel Award (up to $1000).  The award is open to both undergraduate and graduate students; however, preference is given to graduate students.  Please see attached information for criteria and application process.

Please contact the COS Interim Director, Gay Satsuma, gay@hawaii.edu, if you have any questions.

 

Library Guides (LibGuides) to Japanese & Okinawan research

Japan Studies Collection
Resource guide to start your research on Japan

Japan Studies E-Resources
List of e-resources relevant to Japan studies and useful information for successful ILL/DD

DVD title index of the Uchinanchu Worldwide TV series
See each episode title of the 206 Uchinanchu Worldwide TV programs

What's New

UH Manoa Library will have a new website! 

Starting January 2, 2018, the UHM Library will have a new website. The site has softly launched and can be viewed at http://manoa.hawaii.edu/library/.

To find the Okinawa Studies Collection's LibGuides (this page) from the Library's top page, you can follow the path from the top navigation bar: Home > Research > Collections > Asia, then click Visit Okinawa Studies Collection. Or use a magnifying glass (shown below) and type "Okinawa Studies Collection" (case insensitive) in the search box. 

Search Tips


2018 Spring Semester Hours

Please check the hours for Hamilton & Sinclair Libraries here.

Academic Calendar for the Spring 2018 Semester is available here.


Hawai'i State Holidays

The Library will be closed to observe the State and Federal Holidays. Before you visit the Library, please check the calendar the Hawai'i State holidays below. 

http://dhrd.hawaii.gov/state-observed-holidays/ (from State of Hawai'i Department of Human Resources Development site)

News

image of robert campbell   UHM Library Public Lecture

Pre-Registration

Cities Set Within Themselves: Thoughts on the Literary Landscape of Early Modern Tokyo

Abstract
  Robert Campbell, Ph.D., Director-General of the National Institute of Japanese Literature

The lecture is scheduled on February 28, 2018, 3:00-4:40 pm in Room 301 at the UHM Hamilton Library.

FAQs

Where is your collection located?

The general materials are integrated into the East (Japanese language) and Asia (English & other western languages) Collections of Hamilton Library on the 3rd and 4th floors.  Hamilton Library's floor plans are available here.  Asia Reference Desk is located on the 4th floor. Please use the Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog to identify the resources you need.  Okinawa Collection is not separate from other collections (such as Chinese, Korean, etc.), and Okinawa related resources are arranged with other Asian countries' materials. Okinawa Special Collection only is shelved in a closed room, and its resources are available by appointment only (with at least 2 weeks in advance notice).
 
When are you open?

General collection is open during the Library hours.  Special collections are open by appointment.
 
I heard you have special collections.  What are they?  How can I access?

The Okinawa Collection holds the following special collections housed in the Asia Special Collections room.  All the items are not circulating.  The Okinawa Collection staff retrieves materials prior to your visit.  Please read the access policy to make an appointment in advance. Please make an appointment with Okinawa Studies Librarian before you visit to Hawai'i. 
  • Hawaii Karate Museum Collection / 布哇空手博物館コレクション: over 200 materials on Karate and martial arts collected by the Hawaii Karate Museum
  • Sakamaki/Hawley Collection / サカマキ・宝玲コレクション: over 2,000 items on Ryukyu and Okinawa collected by Shunzo Sakamaki and Frank Hawley. Please note: Most items were digitized and available for viewing at the University of the Ryukyus Library. As of December 2017, the digitized items and the items with color paintings were not available for showing. Please consult Okinawa Collection Librarian for more details. 
 

Okinawa Studies Librarian

Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子's picture
Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子
Contact:
Asia Collection Department
University of Hawaii at Manoa Library
Room 402
sachiko.iwabuchi [at] hawaii.edu
(808) 956-2311
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page
Subjects:Okinawa

Asia Collection

asia home

Asia Collection
Reference Desk Hours
Monday - Friday 10:00-4:00
Closed Saturdays, Sundays and holidays
(All library hours)

Email Reference

asiaref@hawaii.edu
Telephone Reference (Asia-related questions only)

956-8116 Monday - Friday 10:00am-4:00pm