Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Okinawan Studies: Dance / Music

This guide to introduce you to resources on Okinawa and Ryukyu.

Dance Related Resources

Online Database

             image of dancers

  • Kumiwudui (Kumiodori) / 組踊 
  • Japan Digital Theatre Archives at the Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum, Waseda University (Last updated: March 2021)
    • This Japan Digital Theatre Archives website (JADH) is provided to search information related to the video recordings of the Japanese performing arts in three domains, spanning contemporary theatre, dance and traditional performing arts. JDTA is developed and operated by the Theatre Museum of Waseda University, as a part of EPAD. 組踊 related resources are included. 

Recommended Printed Books

Recommended Video Recordings

Performing Arts Resources available at the Okinawa Collection at George Washington University Library

  • https://libguides.gwu.edu/OC/recentacquisitions/arts_performing

Updated: April 15, 2021

Music Related Resources

Online Database

  • Okinawan Music / 沖縄音楽
    • This database is provided by the Ryukyu Cultural Archives / 琉球文化アーカイブ

              

Recommended Printed Books

 Recommended Video Recording

 Recommended Sound Recording

Resources available at the Okinawa Collection at George Washington University 

Updated: April 15, 2021