Okinawan Studies: Other Useful Resources

• Yomitan Village Images of Okinawa under USCAR / 読谷村教育委員会沖縄戦後教育史・復帰関連資料（写真）(October 4, 2019)

Yomitan Village's Village History Compiling Division under the Yomitan Village Board of Education digitized and made available of 13,000 images of Okinawa under USCAR. 

• Images of Okinawa After WWII  (Updated with Omeka, October 4, 2019)
  This image database is developed by UHM Library Okinawa Collection and the Images of Okinawa collection is composed of 195 color slides donated in July 2010 by Ms. Madeleine K. Van Epps, plus 53 black & white photos taken by the United States Civil Administration of the Ryukyu Islands (USCAR). 

• Looking at Okinawa's History through Images and Photographs / 写真・映像で見る沖縄のあゆみ 
  This database is provided by theRyukyu Cultural Archives / 琉球文化アーカイブ  

• Okinawa Prefectural Archives USCAR Photograph Collection / 沖縄公文書館USCAR収集写真コレクション
• Okinawa 1935 / 沖縄1935: 写真でよみがえる戦前 (JPN only) >>> The site is a collaboration between The Asahi Shinbun and The Ryukyu Times. Some photos are available for purchase through Asahi Shinbun Photo Archive. The site also offers related newspaper articles. 

• Mirai ni nokosu sensō no kioku. Okinawa-sen to sonogo / 未来に残す戦争の記憶: 沖縄戦と、その後 -- Yahoo! Japan's special site to remember WWII. This site includes the videos that explains the Battle of Okinawa.

• NHK Sensō Shōgen Ākaibuzu:  tokushū Okinawa-sen kuronikuru (NHK War Archives Special: the Battle of Okinawa Chronicle = NHK 戦争アーカイブズ：特集 沖縄戦クロニクル–その時何が起こったのか–) (JP only)

• Naha City History of Museum Photograph Index / 那覇市歴史博物館写真史料検索 
• Zu's Okinawa's old photographs / ず's 沖縄の昔の写真 (JPN version) >>>Creator of this site has not been verified<<<  Has a list of links to Flickr and YouTube (videos) of the pre-reversion era of Okinawa 
• Okinawa Archives Laboratory's Collection of Okinawa 8mm Home Movies (JPN version) >>>The site is maintained by a company called Cinema Okinawa (シネマ沖縄）, whose project--the site claims--is supported by Okinawa Prefecture and Okinawa Arts Council (沖縄文化振興会）.<<<
• Ernest Gordon Bradford - Blackie the Photographer - Okinawa Photography >>>The site is part of the site named Remembering Okinawa, owned by a person named Donn Cuson. The users of this site should be aware that the most of the materials on this site are still protected under the US copyright law at least till in the year 2020. 
• Gail Photos in the Gail Project at the University of California, Santa Cruz. The photos were taken in Okinawan in 1952-1953 by a US Army Captain, Charles Eugene Gail.
  • The Gail Project is now (as of the year 2020) called The Okinawan Memories Initiative. 

Updated: September 22, 2020

Image Search 

Japan Search: https://jpsearch.go.jp/

"Japan Search links digital archives in the publications, cultural properties, and media arts fields and organizes metadata of varying of contents preserved by Japanese institutions and organizations into a searchable “national, integrated and cross-sectoral portal website”. Aside from providing searchable aggregated metadata, Japan Search provides metadata in a user-friendly format and also plays a vital role as a foundation for promoting content utilization." https://jpsearch.go.jp/about

• Okinawa's Traditional Festivals Database / 沖縄祭祀資料データベース  (JPN version)
  This database is provided by the Kobe Women's University Research Center of Classic Performing Arts / 神戸女子大学古典芸能研究センター  (JPN version)

• Kamigami no shima : Okinawa Kudakajima no matsuri / 神々の島 : 沖縄久高島のまつり

• Okinawa Government Statistics Website / 沖縄県統計資料WEBサイト
  Population estimates, labour force survey, family income and expenditure survey, monthly labour survey, consumer price index, and indices of industrial production are written in both English and Japanese.

• Okinawa Outlying Islands Information / 沖縄県離島関係資料 
  This statistics is provided by the Okinawa Governmental Office, Regional and Outlying Islands Promotion Division.  2013 version
• >>>The author/creator for the following webpages have not been verified<<< 
  • 字誌一覧
  • 市町村史一覧
  • 明治大正琉球新報　統計関係記事一覧
  • 沖縄県統計書　明治・大正・昭和15年までの「沖縄県統計書」の諸表一覧

Playtexts Digital Archives / 戯曲デジタルアーカイブ [Updated 4 March 2021]

This archives database is created and maintained by the Japan Playwrites Association (日本劇作家協会). The database contains a text of Chinen Seishin's play, Jinruikan (人類館), and the contact information (form to submit) to obtain permission to use the text for live performance. The playtext of Jinruikan is available as well for personal use only. Learn more about the restrictions, visit https://playtextdigitalarchive.com/about.

Reading Room:

Open

Contact Us:

Reference Hours: M-F: 10am - 2pm

Email: asiaref@hawaii.edu 

Phone: (808) 956-8116

Ask Us: 

https://manoa.hawaii.edu/library/help/ask-us/