University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Okinawan Studies: Okinawa Special Collection / 沖縄特殊文庫

This guide to introduce you to resources on Okinawa and Ryukyu.

Okinawa Special Collection

The University of Hawai'i at Manoa has several Okinawa related special collections, such as Sakamaki/Hawley Collction and Hawaii Karate Collection. 

More information is available at the Okinawa Special Collection page.

The page below explains the history of the creation of Okinawa Special Collection. 

About Okinawa Studies and Okinawa Collection

Ryukyuan procession
 
About the Okinawa Studies and Okinawa Special Collection

The resources on Okinawa/Ryukyus at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa (UHM) Library have been developed with the assistance from notable scholars such as Shunzō Sakamaki, Robert Sakai, Mitsugu Sakihara, William Lebra, and Masato Matsui since 1960s.  From the very beginning, strong support from the local Okinawa community in Hawai‘i has contributed to the collection development efforts. In 2007 and 2008, a great number of materials on Okinawa/Ryukyus were donated by local Okinawa community leaders, such as Mr. Robert Nakasone and the late Mr. Takenobu Higa. These resources are being processed and added into the collection, and many are searchable via the UH Library’s Online Publicly Accessible Catalog (OPAC) called Voyager.

History of Okinawa Studies at UHM

The Center for Okinawan Studies (COS) at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa tells us the history and development of the Okinawa Studies.

The Asia Department at the UHM Library has a story of the development of its Asia Collection, including the Okinawa Collection at UHM.

Okinawa Special Collection

The UHM Okinawa Collection has several important special collections. The world-renowned Sakamaki/Hawley Collection obtained in 1964 and the Hawaii Karate Museum Collection established in 2008 are two named collections. The press translations produced by the U.S. Civil Administration of the Ryukyu Islands (USCAR) are available on request and some materials will soon be available as PDF files.Other USCAR documents on microfilm can be found here.

Okinawa Studies Librarian

Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子's picture
Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子
Contact:
Asia Collection Department
University of Hawaii at Manoa Library
Room 402
sachiko.iwabuchi [at] hawaii.edu
(808) 956-2311
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page
Subjects:Okinawa