Research Guides: Hawai`i's Military Archives, Museums and Libraries : Libraries

Libraries

(Image from http://www.bishopmuseum.org/research/library/index.html)

Digital Libraries with coverage on Hawaii's military history

United States Army Heritage and Education Center (USAHEC) - American Heritage Collection Online
Online Research Catalog - includes many digitized, electonically accessible materials. Materials contained within catalog include books, manuscripts, photographs, serials, and microfilm).
Combined Arms Research Library (CARL)
CARL is a physical collection held at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, however its digital collections, finding aids, and bibliographies make it a valuable web resource. Full-text, digital content related to Hawaii's military history is available and the links and resources provided are helpful for further research.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

Hawaii Libraries with materials related to Hawaii's military history

Pacific Fleet Submarine Museum and Park Research Library
Non-lending research library accessible by appointment (contact (808)423-1341 for appt.). Materials held by library cover multiple wars and are related to submarines and naval warfare. The collection is made up of photographs, manuals, monographs and more.
Hawaii State Public Libraries
The Hawaii State Public Library System (HSPLS) spans all the islands of Hawaii and utilizes an interlibrary loan system that allows users to locate and access materials from all locations. Search HSPLS for Hawaii AND military and you will find numerous relevant government publications pertaining to Hawaii's military past, as well as relevant non-government publications and materials.
Bernice Pauahi Bishop Museum Library and Archives
Materials center around Hawaii and the Pacific and include many items related to military history in Hawaii. visit the catalog and perform a simple search for Hawaii AND military to find related materials. Materials are accessible on-site, by appointment. To request an appointment, you must complete an electronic FORM. For additional information contact Bishop Museum at (808)848-4148.
Joseph F. Smith Library at Brigham Young University
Library is a selective depository which recieves approximately 25% of U.S. Federal publications, and also maintains thousands of private holdings. Library serves the Windward and North Shore communities of Oahu and public access to materials is available on-site. For additional information, contact the library at (808)675-3855, utilize the libraries Live Library Chat

Military Base Libraries

Many of Hawaii's military bases maintain base libraries that function similarly to public libraries.

Base libraries hold general reading materials, as well as books and publications related to warfare and military history.
Access to base libraries is limited to active-duty military members and their dependents, military retirees, and reservists.
Authorized members can sponsor a private civilian onto base; If you're an authorized member or a civilian who can obtain sponsorship, contact any of the following base libraries to inquire about their collections:

Air Force/Navy:

Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam Library (Oahu) / Telephone: (808)449-8299

Army:

Fort Shafter - (Oahu) / Telephone: (808) 438-9521
SGT Yano Library at Schofield Barracks -(Oahu) / Telephone: (808) 655-8002
Tripler Army Medical Center (Medical Library) - (Oahu) / Telephone: (808) 433-6968

Marine Corps:

MCBH Kaneohe Bay - (Oahu) / Telephone: (808)254-7624
MCBH Camp Smith - (Oahu) / Telephone: (808)477-6348

Other:

Asia Pacific Center for Security Studies Library - Located at 2058 Maluhia Road Honolulu, HI 96815,(808) 971-8900. Access for authorized users only. Website has useful resource guides and links for conducting research related to the military.