Research Guides: Hawai`i's Military Archives, Museums and Libraries : Archives

Hawai'i's Past: Military Collections

Archival Collections in Hawai'i

Tropic Lightning Museum (Army) (Schofield Barracks, HI) (Oahu)
Archival collection includes, but is not limited to, military yearbooks from 1941-2009, primary and secondary source materials from 1939-present, and select military newspapers and magazines from 1900 to 1975.
Hawaii State Archives (Honolulu, HI / Oahu)
Hawaii State Archives are open to the public, Monday-Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Archives are located at 364 S. King Street, Honolulu, HI 96813. Contact the archives at (808)586-0329, or by e-mail at archives@hawaii.gov.
Bernice Pauahi Bishop Museum Library and Archives (O'ahu)
Museum's Archives are home to both government and non-govenment materials.
Archive access by appointment; Complete the form found via this link or contact Bishop Museum at (808)848-4148 to request an appointment.
Hawaii National Park Archives (including Pearl Harbor material) (Big Island)
The National Parks Archives for the Pacific includes all the national parks in Hawaii and the Pacific region including Guam, Samoa, and more. Archival materials are extensive and require research description and advance appointments to view, and are primarily located in the Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park facility.
University of Hawai's Archives and Manuscripts
Among the collections in the University Archives pertaining to the institution of University of Hawai'i and its intersection with WWII and other military matters in the Pacific and Hawai'i, there is also the renowned Hawai'i War Records Depository, as well as the historically important Japanese American Veterans Collection and Hawai'i Congressional Papers Collection.
Hawai'i War Records Depository at UH Archives
The Hawaii War Records Depository (HWRD) is an extensive collection of archival materials that document life in Hawaii during World War II. In April of 1943, during its first session after the United States' entrance into World War II, the Hawaii Territorial Legislature passed a joint resolution designating the University of Hawaii as the official depository of material related to Hawaii's part in the war. Over a five year period, individuals, organizations and agencies throughout the state donated or loaned correspondence, personal accounts, reports, photographs, scrapbooks, phonograph discs, maps, posters, artwork, pamphlets, newspapers, clippings, memorabilia and other materials.
Japanese American Veteran's Collection at UH Archives
The Japanese American Veterans Collection documents the rich heritage of Hawaii's Japanese American veterans and their families. AJA veterans served with distinction during World War II as members of the 100th Infantry Battalion, Hawaii Territorial Guard, Varsity Victory Volunteers, 442nd Regimental Combat Team, 1399th Engineers, and the Military Intelligence Service.
Trust Territories of the Pacific Islands Archives--UH Pacific Collection
This Archive is a prodigious archive with both an index to analog materials and some digital materials, primarily photographs, pertaining to the Trust Territories of the Pacific which were at one time adminstered by the U.S. Navy. "Initially under Navy control, the islands were transferred to the U.S. Dept. of the Interior in 1951. Administrative headquarters, originally in Honolulu, moved to Guam, and finally to Saipan. For administrative purpose, the TTPI divided the islands of Micronesia into six districts based on earlier colonial precedent: the Marshalls, Ponape, Truk, Marianas, Yap, and Palau, with the later addition of Kosrae." The best primer for navigating this archive is the excellent library guide created on the subject by the UH Pacific Collection librarians: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/tta
Japanese Cultural Center of Hawai`i
JCCH has archival collections related to the Japanese-American experience in Hawai`i during World War II, including photographs and oral histories.
Pearl Harbor Aviation Museum Digital Collection
The collection includes books, periodicals, photographs, archival materials and 3D objects.

Digital Archives

National Archives Records Administration (Digital Archives)

Online Veterans and Military Documents
Documents available online include casualty records, enclistment and draft records, phtots, and additional finding aids/research tools.
Archival Research Catalog (ARC)
ARC is a catalog which searches NARA's nationwide holdings. Select "digital copies" to search content that is electronically available online.

Other Digital Archives

The National Security Archive by George Washington University
Serves as a library and archive of declassified government documents. Research military history, diplomacy, nuclear strategy, and other topics.
U.S. Army Center of Military History (CMH)
United States Army Heritage and Education Center (USAHEC) - Digital Archive
Search digital Army records and histories by subject using facets and boolean operators, or simply browse materials. Large volume of digitized, accessible content that includes military publications, finding aids, photographs, and many other materials.
Hawaii Aviation, An Archive of Historic Photos and Facts
The State of Hawaii's Department of Transportation, Airports Division created this site as a reflection of Hawaii's aviation hisotry, including topics such as World War II aviation and Military Aviation. Also included is a island-by-island list of hawaii's airfields and airports. Many full-text government publications/documents are freely accessible, including items such as U.S. Naval Air Facilities Honolulu Report (1945-1947), and Origins of the Air Force in Hawaii (1889-1957).

Key Resources: The Digital Photo Collections of Hawaii State Archives

Hawai'i State Archives, Digital Collections, U.S. Navy ship off Oahu.

(Hawai'i State Archives, Digital Collections, U.S. Navy Ship off O'ahu)

Featured Archives in Hawai'i with Military Collections

1. The Hawaii State Archives

The Archives Division in the Hawaii Department of Accounting and General Services is home to the Hawai'i State Archives. When you are ready to start searching, you can explore and click here on the: Archives Division

The Hawaii State Archives has a rich collection of materials relating to the history of Hawai'i and its various governmental incarnations, with photos, letters, documents, papers, maps and more, ranging in scope as well as time periods spanning through the Kingdom, Territorial, and State governments. Some of these materials include documents and photos about the American military. Some finding aids may be uploaded in PDF format directly from the website with subject categories and other information to aid the researcher on military matters.

Digital Archives Catalog

2. Tropic Lightning Museum (Army) (Schofield Barracks, O'ahu)

This O'ahu based museum and archival collection includes military yearbooks from 1941-2009, primary and secondary source materials from 1939-present, and select military newspapers and magazines from 1900 to 1975, documenting the history of Schofield Barracks and Wheeler Army Airfield and the history of the 25th Infantry Division: Archives (http://www.garrison.hawaii.army.mil/tlm/archives.html)

Address

Tropic Lightning Museum Waianae Avenue, Bldg. 361

Schofield Barracks, HI 96875

655-0438