Pukui, Mary Kawena and Mary Neal. “The Leis of Hawaii: an Interpretation of the
Songs of the Islands.” Paradise of the Pacific 53 (December 1941): 39, 41, 43-44.
An article which describes the flowers of each island, the color associated with it, and how each flower might be worn as a lei. Reference is made to Paʻu riders who represent each island in parades, wearing the color and lei associated with each island. Pukui references Charles King’s song “Nā Lei o Hawaiʻi,” which is also translated. In this article it is mentioned that the island of Molokini was once represented in parades with the color blue and a lei made of limu kala.
Languages of publication: English
Pukui, Mary Kawena. Hawaiian Beliefs and Customs During Birth, Infancy, and
Childhood. Vol. XVI. Occasional Papers Bernice P. Bishop Museum of Polynesian Ethnology and Natural History. Honolulu: Bernice P. Bishop Museum, 1942. Call number: AM 101 .B448 v.16 no 1-17
Based on knowledge and training Pukui received from family regarding birth and the care of infant children. In her introduction Pukui writes: “I am glad I learned the Hawaiian customs and beliefs pertaining to birth and infancy.” As with other publications by the Bishop Museum all plant names are given first in Hawaiian with their scientific names in parentheses. This article contains much of the information later used on birthing in Nana I Ke Kumu Volume II Languages of publication: English
Pukui, Mary Kawena. “Childbirth and Infancy in Old Hawaiʻi.” Paradise of the Pacific
55 (February 1943): 22-25, 31.
Detailed article about care of pregnant women, child birthing, naming practices, and infant care in Hawai’i. Most of the information was drawn from Pukui’s own experience and from the stories her family members told.
Languages of publication: English
Pukui, Mary Kawena. “Childhood in Old Hawaiʻi.” Paradise of the Pacific 55 (March
1943): 26-27.
An article about childhood and early childhood rearing in Hawaiʻi, based on Pukui’s own recollections. This article also explains some of the family structure around the turn of the early 20thcentury. Emphasis is places on the communal aspect of rearing children and the importance of grandparents in raising children.
Languages of publication: English
Pukui, Kawena. "Games of My Hawaiian Childhood." California Folklore Quarterly 2,
no. 3 (July 1943): 205-20.
Pukui’s recollections of her childhood games and some Hawaiian chants that went along with them. Of special interest is what she says about sledding with sleds made from tī leaves and stalks.
Includes lengthy footnotes by American ethnologist Martha Warren Beckwith.
Languages of publication: English with some chants in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi
Pukui, Mary Kawena. "Ke Awa Lau O Pu‘uloa: The May-harbored Sea of Pu‘uloa."
Annual Report of the Hawaiian Historical Society for 1943 52 (1944). Call number : DU 620 .H4
Stories and legends of Pu‘uloa told to Pukui by Akoni Kawa‘a and interwoven with personal family accounts about Pu‘uloa. Also included are “Noted Places in Ewa” from Ka Loea Kalaiaina, July, 8, 1899; as well as notes Pukui made on translating the news paper pieces.
Languages of publication: English
Judd, Henry P., John F.G. Stokes, and Mary Kawena Pukui. Introduction to the Hawaiian
Language: An English-Hawaiian Vocabulary. Honolulu: Tongg Publishing Company, 1943.
From the title page: “Comprising five thousand of the commonest and most useful English words and their equivalents, in modern Hawaiian speech, correctly pronounced with a complementary Hawaiian-English Vocabulary” This edition is, according to the compilers preface, explicitly for the use of English speaking people coming to Hawaiʻi The compilers also provide a list of all the books the definitions and translations are from. Another, point of interest are the Native Hawaiian consultants mentioned: David Piimanu, Rev. S. K. Kamaiopili, Edward Kahale and H. K. Poepoe. At least seven printings of this occurred. University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. Hamilton Library Hawaiian-Pacific Collection has most of them.
Languages of publication:: English and ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi
Ae‘e, Heezekiah, and Mary Kawena Pukui. "The History of Ebon." Annual
Report of the Hawaiian Historical Society for 1947 56 (1948): 9-19.
Translation of an article that appeared in the nupepa Ku‘oko‘a, February 7, 1863. Includes descriptions of the people, customs, social hierarchy, kapu, religious beliefs, canoes, sailing, amusements … an interesting report from a Native Hawaiian missionary. Article is preceded by a biographical sketch of the author, Heezekiah Aeʻa, who was a Native Hawaiian missionary to Micronesia, specifically the Marshall Islands.
Languages of publication: English
Pukui, Mary Kawena, Caroline Curtis, and Robert Lee Eskridge. Pikoi and
Other Legends of the Island of Hawaii. Honolulu: Kamehameha Schools Press, 1949.
Historical and mythical moʻolelo collected and/or suggested by Pukui and retold by Curtis. Topics range from specific stories about Pikoi and Pele to stories of Ku and Umi. Includes a glossary. These stories have all been retold, by Curtis, in prose form. Some are newspaper translation Pukui made, some are retold versions of what others compiled such as Rice, Westervelt, Fornander, Thrum, etc ... A few were told by Pukui herself, or her mother or grandmother.
Languages of publication: English
Pukui, Mary Kawena. "Songs (Meles) of Old Ka‘u Hawai‘i." The Journal of American Folklore 26, no. 245 (July to September 1949): 247-258.
This article concerns the composition and meaning of mele in Kaʻu. Pukui includes personal, family mele as an example, but keeps certain meaning to herself and her family as she deemed appropriate. She focuses on the poetic skills of Native Hawaiian composers throughout her article, recalling reasons Hawaiians composed chants as well as their personal reactions to particular chants over a century after their composition. All translations are provided by Pukui. This article was originally presented at a meeting of the Anthropological Society of Hawaii in May, 1940.
Languages of publication: English and ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi for original
chants.
