Hawaiʻi - Mary Kawena Pukui Annotated Bibliography: 1950's

Pukui, Mary Kawena, Caroline Curtis, and Richard Goings. The Water of
Kane and Other Legends of the Hawaiian Islands. Honolulu: Kamehameha Schools Press, 1951.
Call number: GR 385 P8 1951a

Stories were collected or suggested by Pukui and retold by Caroline Curtis. Part of a series of books published by Kamehameha Schools of which “Piikoi” was the first. Legends are arranged by island. Origins for the stories include: Fornander, Green, Westervelt, "Hawaiian Historical Reports", “Paradise of the Pacific,” Hawaiian News Papers, and Pukui’s family. Includes a retelling of “The Wind Gourd of Laʻamaomao, Kawelo, and more. Pukui and Curtis in their forward write how this book is for the children of Kamehameha who “will grow a bit in understanding and appreciation of the civilization that was here before our islands were “discovered.””
Languages of publication: English with Hawaiian Glossary

Titcomb, Margaret, and Mary Kawena Pukui. Native Use of Fish in Hawaii. New
Plymouth, New Zealand: Avery Press Limited, 1952.
Call number: QL636.5 H3 T57

Introduction includes a list of Native Hawaiian informants. Includes Hawaiian and scientific names for fish, discussion of kapu and Kingdom law concerning fishing, culinary preparation and preservation. Legends and mele about some kinds of fish appear throughout the publication. Titcomb writes in the introduction “The offering (book) would have been small indeed without the help at every turn of Mrs. Mary Kawena Pukui...” Memoir No. 27 A Supplement to the Journal of the Polynesian Society
Languages of publication: English

 
Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert. Hawaiian-English Dictionary.
Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1957.
Call number: PL 6446. P8

Includes a genealogy of dictionaries, glossaries, and language guides dating back to the Andrews dictionary of 1836. Also contains a bibliography of consulted works. The bibliography of consulted works is particularly interesting just to see what the authors found useful. Included in this is a list of Hawaiian language newspapers that were consulted. First edition. 
Languages of publication: ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi and English.

 
Pukui, Mary Kawena, and E. S. Craighill Handy. The Polynesian Family
System in Ka‘u Hawai‘i. Wellington, New Zealand: Polynesian society, 1958.
Call number: HQ724.H3 H35 1958

Originally published in parts in the Journal of the Polynesian Society from 1950 to 1955. Contains interviews and material collected by Pukui during visits to Ka‘u.Many of her sources were
family and friends in the Ka‘u district of Hawai‘i island. Includes information on kinship systems, life cycles, psychic aspects of relationships, custom and social order, and the historical and legendary background of Ka‘u.
Languages of publication: English

I‘i, John Papa. Fragments of Hawaiian History. Edited by Dorthy B
Barrere. Translated by Mary Kawena Pukui. Honolulu: Bishop Museum Press, 1959.
Call number: DU 627 .I4 1959

Translation of John Papa Iʻi’s writings including his childhood, service to the Kamehameha family, activities at the court of the Kamehamehas, as well as the changes occurring in Hawaiʻi during his lifetime. The preface provides a brief biographic sketch. It is I‘i's eye-witness account of history. This book originally appeared in the Hawaiian language newspaper Ka Nupepa Kuokoa between 1866 and 1870.
Languages of publication: English

This bibliography was written by D. Kealiʻi MacKenzie. It was originally compiled as a project for Hawaiian Studies 203: Review of Hawaiian Literature, in Spring 2011, as such it was completed in April of that year. Kealiʻi deposited the content of the bibliography in to this guide, and allowed the UHM Library to continue to make this content available to the public. Questions or comments may be directed to Dore Minatodani, at dorem@hawaii.edu, or (808) 956-2852.