1980's - Hawaiʻi - Mary Kawena Pukui Annotated Bibliography - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

List of Publications

Pukui, Mary Kawena, Dorothy B. Barrere, and Marion Kelly.
Hula: Historical Perspectives. Pacific Anthropological Records 30. Honolulu: Department of Anthropology Bernice Pauahi Bishop Museum, 1980.
Call number: GN 4 .P32 no.30

Broken into parts. The first is by Barrére who provides a historical retrospective on Hulu from pre-contact time through the 1930’s. Pukui’s essays make up part II: Notes From A Kumu Hula. Marion Kelly’s section is part III and concerns Hula sites on Kaua‘i. Appendices A through E have further information such as extracts of Vancouver’s 1801 journal and a list of hula performed at Kalākaua’s coronation. Introduction to Pukui’s section states that her essays “stand as the modern authoritative reference on the subject, replacing Emerson’s Unwritten Literature to a large extent.”
Languages of publication: English with chants in ʻŌlelo Hawai‘i with English translations.

Pukui, Mary Kawena. ‘Ōlelo No‘eau: Hawaiian Proverbs and Poetical Sayings. Bernice P. Bishop Museum Special Publication 71. Honolulu: Bishop Museum Press, 1983.
Call number: PN 6519 H4 P84 1983

Contains the cultural and poetic sayings, riddles, and proverbs Pukui collected from the time she was 15 onward. Sayings are arranged alphabetically according to the Hawaiian alphabet and are indexed by topic. The introduction contains biographical information on Pukui's life.
Languages of publication: Ōlelo Hawai‘i and English

*After 1986 all materials are published posthumously

Pukui, Mary Kawena, Samuel H. Elbert, and Esther T. Mookini. Pocket Place Names of Hawaii. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1988.
Call number: DU622 .P792 1988

A small, condensed version of Place Names of Hawaii.

Bibliography Information

This bibliography was written by D. Kealiʻi MacKenzie. It was originally compiled as a project for Hawaiian Studies 203: Review of Hawaiian Literature, in Spring 2011, as such it was completed in April of that year. Kealiʻi deposited the content of the bibliography in to this guide, and allowed the UHM Library to continue to make this content available to the public. Questions or comments may be directed to Dore Minatodani, at dorem@hawaii.edu, or (808) 956-2852.

Hawaiʻi - Mary Kawena Pukui Annotated Bibliography: 1980's

List of Publications

Bibliography Information