Hawaiʻi - Mary Kawena Pukui Annotated Bibliography: 2000's

*After 1986 all materials are published posthumously

Manu, Moses. Keomelemele: He Moolelo Kaao no Keomelemele. Edited by Puakea Nogelmeier. Translated by Mary Kawena Pukui. Honolulu: Bishop Museum Press, 2002.
Call number: GR 110 .H38 K43 2002

Contains the story of Keomelemele as originally published in Ka Nupepa Kuokoa from September 6, 1884 ending June 27, 1885. Has many stories concerning the gods and mythic islands of the gods. Included is a biographical sketch of both Manu and Pukui.
Languages of Publication: ‘Ōlelo Hawaiʻi for the original text and the second half translated into English.

 
Ka Ho‘oilina: the Legacy 1-5 (2002 - 2006).
Call number: PL 6448 .A1 H6

This five volume journal consists of original materials in the Hawaiian language from areas such as Pukui’s “Hawaiian Ethnographic Notes” (HEN) starting with agricultural lore, government documents, news papers starting in 1834, literature (including chants, mele, stories, etc …).
Concerning HEN the introduction at the start of each volume has this to say: “Within this assembly Mrs. Pukui’s own growth can be seen, from the work of a young woman to the mastery of her mature years. HEN was assembled as a repository for Pukui herself, as well as those seeking her assistance.” Published by Kamehameha Schools Press, in association with University of Hawaii Press for Alu Like.
Languages of publication: ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi and English

 
Manu, Moses. Hula: Hawaiian Proverbs and Inspirational Quotes Celebrating Hula in Hawai‘i. Translated by Mary Kawena Pukui. Honolulu: Mutual Publishing, 2003.
Call number: PN 6519 .H4 O5625 2003

Sayings, proverbs, and quotations about hula. Includes sepia and black & white photography as well as a list of references. Includes quotations from different kumu hula. According to copy right page, and the University of Hawaiʻi's online public access catalog, a good majority of the quotations came from Pukui’s ʻŌlelo No‘eau Hawaiian Proverbs and Poetical Sayings.
Languages of publication: English with some ʻŌlelo Hawai‘i

Lobe-Fried, Caren. Lono and the Magical Land Beneath the Sea / Adapted and Illustrated by Caren Loebel-Fried from Mary Kawena Pukui's translation of "Moolelo Kahiki no Kumuhonua" Held in the Bishop Museum Archives. Honolulu: Kamahoi Press, 2006.
Call number: PZ 90 .H27 L64 2006

Children’s book with illustrations. Stories are about Lono learning of different Hawaiian food plants and how to grow them. Contains the original ʻŌlelo Hawai‘i version of Molelo Kahiko No Kumuhonua and a list of sources. The book is based on Pukui’s translation of the original mo‘olelo.
Languages of publication: English and ʻŌlelo Hawai‘i.

This bibliography was written by D. Kealiʻi MacKenzie. It was originally compiled as a project for Hawaiian Studies 203: Review of Hawaiian Literature, in Spring 2011, as such it was completed in April of that year. Kealiʻi deposited the content of the bibliography in to this guide, and allowed the UHM Library to continue to make this content available to the public. Questions or comments may be directed to Dore Minatodani, at dorem@hawaii.edu, or (808) 956-2852.