University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Mary Kawena Pukui Annotated Bibliography: 1960's

List of Publications

Pukui, Mary Kawena, Caroline Curtis, and Richard Goings. Tales of the
Menehune and Other short Legends of the Hawaiian Islands. Honolulu: Kamehameha Schools Press, 1960.
Call number : GR 385 P78

The contents are broken down into three sections: “Tales of the Menehune,” “Legends of Maui,” and “Other Legends of the Hawaiian Islands.” The last being the largest. All stories are suggested, collected, and (most likely) translated by Pukui. As with her other collaborations with Caroline Curtis, they are retold by Curtis. Sources for these legends vary from Hawaiian language newspapers and Thrum to Fornander and Westervelt. Included are stories Pukui personally knew as well as those from her home district of Kaʻu. Includes a glossary of Hawaiian words.
Languages of publication: English

 
Pukui, Mary Kawena, Jane Lanthrop Winnie, and Jessie Shaw Fisher.
ʻOlelo Noʻeau a ka Hawaii: Folk Sayings from the Hawaiian. Honolulu: Privately printed, 1961.
Call Number: PN 6519. H4W5

Opens with a section of the Kumulipo translated by Kalakaua, contains many proverbs/sayings with full illustrations. Includes riddles, a short piece about “The Nights,” an illustrated phases of the moon chart, a pronunciation guide and glossary to Hawaiian words. All
Hawaiian words have proper diacritical marks. Precursor to the larger collection of ʻŌlelo Noʻeau.
Languages of publication: ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi and English

  
Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Alfons L. Korn. "News from Molokai: The Letters
of Peter Young Kaeo (Kekuaokalani) to Queen Emma, 1873 -1876." Pacific Historical Review 32, no. 1 (February 1963): 7-34.
Call number: DU 627.15 K67

Commentary and translations of Queen Emma and Peter Kaeo’s letters to one another. Written during Kaeo’s time on Moloka‘i as he had contracted leprosy. Commentary is particularly focused on
Emma’s political activity, her and Kaeo’s distaste for the Kalakaua dynasty, and Kaeo’s draw toward traditional Hawaiian beliefs. Pukui is listed as Korns collaborator and “among other contributions, is the translator.” According to a footnote the letters were discovered at a pawnshop in 1935.
Languages of publication: English

 
Kamakau, Samuel Manaiakalani. Ka Po‘e Kahiko: The People of Old. Edited
by Dorothy B. Barrere. Translated by Mary Kawena Pukui. Honolulu: Bishop Museum Press, 1964.
Call number: DU 624 .K35

Presents Kamakau’s commentaries/writings on pre-contact society, family, religion, transfiguration, medicine, magic, and sorcery. Glossary of Hawaiian terms and index of cited
literature are provided. These writings are from the 1870’s, their original publication date is included in each section break on a topic. Originally from the Hawaiian language newspaper Ke Au‘Oko‘a. From the foreword: Barrére edited Kamakau’s work as to present a “continuity of thought.”
Languages of publication: English, chants presented in both English and ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi.

 
Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert. Place Names of Hawaii and Supplement to the Third Edition of the Hawiian-English Dictionary. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1966.
Call number: DU 622 .P8

Pronunciation and meaning of 1,125 Hawaiian place names. Includes an analysis of place names (which has some comparison to other names in Polynesia) and the supplement to the third edition of the Hawaiian dictionary. The supplement contains new entries and meanings. Among the items listed in the bibliography are 12 Hawaiian language newspapers. An IBM 1401 was used to compute the percentage of names, their meaning (often literal), and the published accounts (legendary, mythological, poetic attributes, etc…). possibly
the first time a Hawaiian text, or Hawaiian language, was used with a computer.
Languages of publication: English and ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi.

 

Pukui, Mary Kawena. "Poi Making." In Polynesian Culture History, Essays in Honor of
Kenneth P. Emory, edited by Genevieve A. Highland, Roland W. Force, Alan Howard, Marion Kelly, and Yoshiko H. Sinoto, 425-35. Bernice P. Bishop Museum Special Publications 56. Honolulu, HI: Bishop Museum Press, 1967.
Call number: DU 510 .P64

Written in a collection to honor Pukui’s long time colleague, Kenneth Emory, this article goes into customs surrounding the making poi, detailed preparation, the legends associated with taro, fermentation preferences, cleanliness in poi making, and even how poi began to be produced by Chinese immigrants in Hawaiʻi. Descriptions are given for different varieties of taro and which made the best poi.
Pukui also makes mention of poi ‘uwala, sweet potato poi; poi ‘ulu, breadfruit poi, and poi palaoa or flour poi.
Languages of publication: English with terms in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi.

 

Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Margaret Titcomb. Dog and Man in the Ancient
Pacific with Special Attention to Hawaii. Special Publication 59. Honolulu: Bishop Museum Press, 1969.
Call number: SF 422.5 T58

Information on dogs in the Pacific basin: food, pet, material (teeth) legends, offerings, etc … Information about Hawaii is the bulk of the information, however attention is given to other parts of Polynesia, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Australia. Titcomb in her foreword states Pukui was the main source of information and that other sources were Hawaiians Pukui had interviewed. Perhaps one of the first treatments of dogs in the Pacific.
Languages of publication: English.

Bibliography Information

D. Kealiʻi MacKenzie

This bibliography was written by D. Kealiʻi MacKenzie. It was originally compiled as a project for Hawaiian Studies 203: Review of Hawaiian Literature, in Spring 2011, as such it was completed in April of that year. Kealiʻi deposited the content of the bibliography in to this guide, and allowed the UHM Library to continue to make this content available to the public. Questions or comments may be directed to Dore Minatodani, at dorem@hawaii.edu, or (808) 956-2852.