*After 1986 all materials are published posthumously
Pukui, Mary Kawena, Samuel H. Elbert, and Esther T. Mookini. Hawaiian-Japanese Dictionary. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1990.
Call number: PL 6446 .P8416 1990
A Japanese language translation of the Pocket Hawaiian Dictionary.Japanese translation by Yū Nishizawa (according to Elbert’s English language preface.)
Languages of publication: Japanese, some English, and ʻŌlelo Hawai‘i
Kamakau, Samuel Manaiakalani. Nā Mo‘olelo a ka Po‘e Kahiko: Tales and Traditions of the People of Old. Edited by Dorothy B. Berrere. Translated by Mary Kawena Pukui. Honolulu: Bishop Museum Press, 1991.
Call number: DU 624.5 .K27 1991
Pulls together Kamakau’s accounts of various Hawaiian mo‘olelo. Includes many chants and genealogies of chiefs. Divided by Berrere into three parts: Part 1: A Sightseeing Tour of Famous Places – Supernatural People – The Ancient Cheifs from Hawai‘i to Ni‘ihau. Part 2: Excerpts from the Story of Kamehameha I. Part 3: Excerpts from “Ka Moolelo Hawaii.” Contains a glossary of Hawaiian terms and literature cited. Includes mo‘olelo that should have been in the English language version of Ruling Chiefs about foreigners who visited before Cook. These stories were to be the historical context Kamakau wanted relayed before launching into the story of Cook.
Languages of publication: English with chants in ʻŌlelo Hawai‘i
Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Ethel M. Damon. Four Kaua‘i Chants. Līhue, Hawaiʻi: Kaua‘i Historical Society, 1994.
Call number: PL 6448.6 .F68 1994
Original program published for the Kaua‘i Historical Soceity in 1994. Printed from an original manuscript, prepared for and performed in 1938. Contains oli and mele that were originally part of a larger manuscript complied by Pukui on mele of Kaua‘i. Chants included: Pule kahea, Pule kahea mai, Aia i Niiahau, Aia i kamaile, Maikai Kauai, Henolele i ka malie. Collected and translated by Pukui, edited by Damon, and demonstrated by Mary Salisbury for the Kaua‘i Historical Society. Based on an original manuscript from 1938.Included are notes and kaona from the hula demonstration.
Languages of publication: English and Ōlelo Hawai‘i. Chants are translated.
Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Laura C. S. Green. Folktales of Hawai‘i. Honolulu: Bishop Museum Press, 1995.
Call number: GR 110 .H38 P85 1995
Compiled and translated by Pukui, taken down by Green. Divided into three sections: “The Gods and The Spirit World,” “The Chiefs,” and “Makaʻainana, Peopl of The Land.” Divided into two halves, an English half and an ʻŌlelo Hawai‘i half. Possibly based on work Pukui published in the 1930’s, this has much more mo‘olelo. Published on the 100th anniversary of Pukui’s birth.
Languages of publication: English and ʻŌlelo Hawai‘i.
Nā Mele Welo: Songs of Our Heritage; Selections From the Roberts Mele Collection in the Bishop Museum. Edited by Pat Namaka Bacon and Nathan Napoka. Translated by Mary Kawena Pukui. Honolulu: Bishop Museum Press, 1995.
Call number: M 1629.7 .H4 M46 1995
Contains around 90 mele arranged by those that are oli and those that are hula. Songs span the late 1700ʻs to the very early 1900ʻs, and are on topics as diverse as aliʻi, electricity, Pele, places, flowers, and etc ... translated from the field work of Helen H. Roberts and contains an extensive list of Hawaiians who contributed the songs and chants.
Languages of publication: ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi and English
This bibliography was written by D. Kealiʻi MacKenzie. It was originally compiled as a project for Hawaiian Studies 203: Review of Hawaiian Literature, in Spring 2011, as such it was completed in April of that year. Kealiʻi deposited the content of the bibliography in to this guide, and allowed the UHM Library to continue to make this content available to the public. Questions or comments may be directed to Dore Minatodani, at firstname.lastname@example.org, or (808) 956-2852.