Images of Okinawa After WWII(ENG version)
This image database is developed by UHM Library Okinawa Collection and the Images of Okinawa collection is composed of 195 color slides donated in July 2010 by Ms. Madeleine K. Van Epps, plus 53 black & white photos taken by the United States Civil Administration of the Ryukyu Islands (USCAR).
Okinawa 1935 / 沖縄1935: 写真でよみがえる戦前 (JPN only) >>> The site is a collaboration between The Asahi Shinbun and The Ryukyu Times. Some photos are available for purchase through Asahi Shinbun Photo Archive. The site also offers related newspaper articles.
Mirai ni nokosu sensō no kioku. Okinawa-sen to sonogo / 未来に残す戦争の記憶: 沖縄戦と、その後 (JP only) -- Yahoo! Japan's special site to remember WWII. This site includes the videos that explains the Battle of Okinawa.
Naha City History of Museum Photograph Index / 那覇市歴史博物館写真史料検索(JPN version)
Zu's Okinawa's old photographs / ず's 沖縄の昔の写真 (JPN version) >>>Creator of this site has not been verified<<< Has a list of links to Flickr and YouTube (videos) of the pre-reversion era of Okinawa
Okinawa Archives Laboratory's Collection of Okinawa 8mm Home Movies (JPN version) >>>The site is maintained by a company called Cinema Okinawa (シネマ沖縄）, whose project--the site claims--is supported by Okinawa Prefecture and Okinawa Arts Council (沖縄文化振興会）.<<<
Gail Photos in the Gail Project at the University of California, Santa Cruz. The photos were taken in Okinawan in 1952-1953 by a US Army Captain, Charles Eugene Gail. For more information about the Gail Project, read here.
Okinawa's Traditional Festivals Database / 沖縄祭祀資料データベース(JPN version)
This database is provided by the Kobe Women's University Research Center of Classic Performing Arts / 神戸女子大学古典芸能研究センター(JPN version)