Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Okinawan Studies: BLOG / News

This guide to introduce you to resources on Okinawa and Ryukyu.

Okinawa Shrine's Birth and Its History in Naha: Online Study Event

by Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子 on 2021-03-24T17:30:00-10:00 | Comments
Online Study Meeting on Okinawa Shrine: Its Birth and History by the Research Center for Nonwritten Cultural Materials in the Institute for the Study of Japanese Folk Culture at Kanagawa University 

Okinawa Shrine Zoom April 24

Image Source: http://himoji.kanagawa-u.ac.jp/news/index.html#p-1056

Program

  • Speaker: Professor SAGAI Tatsuru (嵯峨井建)
  • Title: 「沖縄神社の創建とその後」(roughly translated, "The Birth of Okinawa Shrine and Its Aftermath"
  • Date & Time: 
  • Venue: Zoom
  • Registration: Required.
  1. Send email to: himoji-info【@】kanagawa-u.ac.jp (replace 【@】 with @) by April 22, 2021 (JST)
  2. Include (1) name and (2) affiliation in the message
  3. The organizer will send you an invitation (i.e., Zoom URL)

4月22日(木)までに、氏名とご所属を下記のメールアドレスまでご連絡ください。追って招待URLをお知らせします。

himoji-info【@】kanagawa-u.ac.jp 

◎日時:2021年4月24日(土)13:00~14:30
◎Zoomで開催
◎主催 神奈川大学非文字資料研究センター 「帝国日本」境界の祭祀再編と海外神社班
◎内容
講演
「沖縄神社の創建とその後」
嵯峨井建(京都國學院講師、神道学博士)

Related Resource

The Research Center for Nonwritten Cultural Materials in the Institute for the Study of Japanese Folk Culture at Kanagawa University offers a database called 海外神社(跡地)に関するデータベース, Kaigai Jinsja (Atochi) ni Kansuru Dētabēsu [=roughly translated, Database of the Overseas Shrines or the Shrine Sites]. This database provides images of the shrines and shrine sites built by the Japanese before and during the WWII.

戦前、日本帝国の「勢力圏」の拡大に伴い、日本国および日本人によってアジア太平洋地域に多くの海外神社が建てられました。本データベースは海外神社及びその跡地に関する、当時の写真・現況写真・図面・地図など非文字資料を中心に収録・整理したものです。

Source: http://www.himoji.jp/database/db04/index.html

Shrines can be searched by the name or the location from the map.

Overseas Shrines and Shrine Sites Database

Image source: http://www.himoji.jp/database/db04/serch_map.html


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



Okinawa
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.