This is the "Home" page of the "Okinawan Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
chat, email, telephone library research tools library catalog login my account

This guide to introduce you to resources on Okinawa and Ryukyu.
Last Updated: Apr 29, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/okinawa Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links

UHM Japan Collection Home

UHM Okinawa Collection Home

Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog

libguides logoLibguides Subject: Japan
cjs

cos

Library Guides (Libguides) to Japanese & Okinawan research

Japan Studies Collection
Resource guide to start your research on Japan

Japan Studies E-Resources
List of e-resources relevant to Japan studies and useful hints for successful ILL/DD

DVD title index of the Uchinanchu Worldwide TV series
See each episode title of the 206 Uchinanchu Worldwide TV programs


 

Welcome

This Library Guide has been developed to support your research on Okinawa & Ryukyu 沖縄・琉球 at the UHM Library. Sources with "UHM Only" notation means that you need to log in the UHM Library system with your ID and Password to use the sources. Hope you will find the information of a wide range of resources on Okinawa/Ryukyu helpful.

 

Events/News

UHM Cetner for Okinawan Studies latest News & Events

gallery tour "Picturing the Ryukyus" exhibit in UH Manoa Art Gallery, February 7-22, 2013.

Brief tour of the Exhibit

Joint Public Lecture and Symposium were Successfully concluded. Thank you very much for your support.

See the related link.

 

FAQs

Where is your collection located?
The general materials are integrated into the East (Japanese language) and Asia (English & other western languages) Collections of Hamilton Library on the 3rd and 4th floors. Hamilton Library's floor plans are available here.
Please use the Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog to identify the resources you need.

I heard you have special collections. What are they? How can I access?
The Japan Collection holds the following special collections housed in the Asia Special Collections room. All the items are not circulating. The Japan Collection staff retrieves materials prior to your visit. Please read the access policy to make an appointment in advance.

Hawaii Karate Museum Collection 布哇空手博物館コレクション: over 200 materials on Karate and martial arts collected by the Hawaii Karate Museum

Sakamaki/Hawley Collection サカマキ・宝玲コレクション: over 2,000 items on Ryukyu and Okinawa collected by Shunzo Sakamaki and Frank Hawley

When are you open?
General collection is open during the Library hours. http://library.manoa.hawaii.edu/about/hours.html

Special collections are open by appointment.

Okinawan Studies Guide

Profile Image
Tokiko Y. Bazzell
Contact Info
Asia Collection Department, University of Hawaii at Manoa Library, 2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu, Hawaii, 96822, USA
Send Email
 

Asia Collection

Asia Collection Home Site

Reference Desk Hours
Monday - Friday 10:00-5:00
Sunday 1:00-5:00
Closed Saturdays and holidays
(All library hours)

Email Reference

asiaref@hawaii.edu

Telephone Reference
(Asia-related questions only)
956-8116
Monday - Friday 10:00am-5:00pm
Sunday 1:00pm-5:00pm

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip