University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Okinawan Studies: Home

This guide to introduce you to resources on Okinawa and Ryukyu.

Welcome / Mensōre / めんそーれ / Aloha

Image of Shuri Castle in Okinawa

(Shuri Castle / 首里城正殿)

 

Okinawan Studies Library Guide (LibGuides) has been developed to support your research on Okinawa &  Ryukyus / 沖縄・琉球 at the UHM Library. Sources with "UHM Only" notation means that you  need to log in the UHM Library system with your UHM username and password to use the sources. Hope you will find the information of a wide range of resources on Okinawa/Ryukyus helpful.

Quick Links

Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog
Image of a voyager logo
 
 One Search Manoa 
Image of one search manoa

Japan Studies LibGuides
Logo of Lib Guides
 
Okinawa Collection (Blog) 
Okinawa Collection Blog

UHM Library Okinawa Collection
:
As of July 12, 2017 (HST), the site is under construction (unavailable).
New site will be announced soon.
 
Okinawa Special Collection

 
UHM Center for Okinawan Studies
Center for Okinawan Studies

UHM Center for Japan Studies

Center for Japanese Studies

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Deadlines & News:

Call for Papers for the Japanese Diaspora Initiative (JDI) Workshop

The Hoover Institution Library & Archives at Stanford University will be hosting the first Japanese Diaspora Initiative Workshop at Stanford University from November 13-15, 2017.

The details are available here. The application closes on August 21, 2017.


REIT 2017 in Okinawa

The University of the Ryukyus announced that she will host the REIT 2017 Symposium in Okinawa.  The early registration and call for proposal closes on September 15, 2017. For more information, please visit at http://bit.ly/2vyJT4d

Library Guides (LibGuides) to Japanese & Okinawan research

Japan Studies Collection
Resource guide to start your research on Japan

Japan Studies E-Resources
List of e-resources relevant to Japan studies and useful information for successful ILL/DD

DVD title index of the Uchinanchu Worldwide TV series
See each episode title of the 206 Uchinanchu Worldwide TV programs

What's New

Connecting to Hawai'i Voyager Library Catalog While Traveling Away from Hawai'i

Know Before You Go (May 5, 2017)

If you have difficulty gain accessing the Hawaiʻi Voyager Library Catalog, begin your search at http://library.manoa.hawaii.edu/ and input your search terms in the OneSearch Manoa search box. When viewing the results, click on the "Available in the Library" link on the left column. This will show items available in the Library Catalog.

If you want to start your search in the Library Catalog, click on the "New Search" button in the header, click on the "Everything" drop down menu, then select the "Library Catalog Only", enter your search terms, then press the "Search" button. This will show items that are only available in the Library Catalog.

If you still cannot connect to the Library Catalog or OneSearch Manoa, go to http://whatismyipaddress.com, make note of your IPv4 address as displayed on the page, then send an email to assist@hawaii.edu.      

https://tinyurl.com/mq7udtx


2017 Summer Sessions Library Hours

First Day of Instruction (2nd Summer Session): July 3 - August 11, 2017

Please check the hours for Hamilton & Sinclair Libraries here.

Academic Calendar for the Summer Sessions is available here.


Hawai'i State Holidays (2017-2018)

The next holiday in Hawai'i is August 18th, 2017.  The Library will be closed to observe the State Holiday.

https://goo.gl/zZJLQq (from State of Hawai'i Department of Human Resources Development site)

Please check the State of Hawai'i observed holidays before you visit Hamilton Library. 

News

  • ​​New Acquisitions List for July 2017 is up now​
  • "BorrowItNow" ILL Service will end on August 17.
    Alternative to BorrowItNow:
    1. UHM patrons will need to submit their ILL (print) book loan requests directly via the ILL online request system, rather than via BorrowItNow
    2. Hamilton Library is working on a replacement service, Rapid-R for book loans, that will work behind the scenes (with staff workflow)
    3. No firm working date is yet set (TBD)
    NOTE: There is no direct patron web request interface at the moment.
    For questions, please contact:
    Naomi Chow
    ILL Librarian @ Hamilton Library
    University of Hawaii at Manoa
    tel. 
    808-956-5951
    email. 
    nchow[at]hawaii.edu
  • Events @ the University of Hawaii System

FAQs

Where is your collection located?

The general materials are integrated into the East (Japanese language) and Asia (English & other western languages) Collections of Hamilton Library on the 3rd and 4th floors.  Hamilton Library's floor plans are available here.  Asia Reference Desk is located on the 4th floor. Please use the Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog to identify the resources you need.
 
When are you open?

General collection is open during the Library hours.  Special collections are open by appointment.
 
I heard you have special collections.  What are they?  How can I access?

The Japan Collection holds the following special collections housed in the Asia Special Collections room.  All the items are not circulating.  The Japan Collection staff retrieves materials prior to your visit.  Please read the access policy to make an appointment in advance.
  • Hawaii Karate Museum Collection / 布哇空手博物館コレクション: over 200 materials on Karate and martial arts collected by the Hawaii Karate Museum
  • Sakamaki/Hawley Collection / サカマキ・宝玲コレクション: over 2,000 items on Ryukyu and Okinawa collected by Shunzo Sakamaki and Frank Hawley
 

Okinawa Studies Librarian

Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子's picture
Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子
Contact:
Asia Collection Department
University of Hawaii at Manoa Library
Room 402
sachiko.iwabuchi [at] hawaii.edu
(808) 956-2311
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page
Subjects:Okinawa

Asia Collection

asia home

Asia Collection
Reference Desk Hours
Monday - Friday 10:00-4:00
Closed Saturdays, Sundays and holidays
(All library hours)

Email Reference

asiaref@hawaii.edu
Telephone Reference (Asia-related questions only)

956-8116 Monday - Friday 10:00am-4:00pm