Research Guides: Japan Studies Collection: Finding Scholars/Institutions

Experts & Institutions in North America

Association for Asian Studies (AAS)
Largest association in North America
Association for Japanese Literary Studies (AJLS)
Association of Japanese Business Studies
Association of Teachers of Japanese (ATJ)
Council on East Asian Libraries (CEAL)
Association of North American East Asian studies librarians and libraries
Database for Overseas Institutions of Japanese Studies
Searchable by location (map) and keyword
Database of Institutions for Japanese Studies in the US
Directory of Japanese Studies in the United States and Canada
The Japan Foundation's 2011-2012 survey. The most comprehensive directory of Japanese Studies in North America.
Directory of North American Collections of Old and Rare Japanese Materials
Overview, contact information of the participating North American institutions, which hold old and rare materials. Manged by the National Institute of Japanese Literature.
European Association of Japanese Resource Specialists (EAJRS)
Official site of the European Association of Japanese Resource Specialists (EAJRS) 日本資料専門家欧州協会.
North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources (NCC)
Librarians & faculty association to promote access to (1) Japanese resources, (2) collection development, & (3) education
Society for East Asian Anthropology

Finding Experts & Organizations

Calil Local カーリルローカル
Local libraries in Japan.
Global Consortium for Japanese Textual Scholarship (GCJTS)日本古典籍研究国際コンソーシアム
古典籍研究のための国際コンソーシアム。UHM EALL & Library are members of the consortium.
more...less...
Provides events, forums, networking, etc.
J-Global
Currently Beta version. Provides wide-range of information on various researchers and research outputs. Enable you to search other databases relevant to a specific researcher and his/her works.
Kikuzo II Visual (聞蔵II ビジュアル) (Access through Asahi Shinbun)(UHM Only)
It contains Asahi Shinbun articles 1879-present, Aera & Shukan Asahi 1984-present, and Chiezo (current issue).
Libraries in Japan
List of libraries in Japan
Museums, Libraries, & Archives (MLA) in Japan Access Guide
Directory of MLA institutions, how to access to them, grants & aids to research in Japan, and more. The NCC's MLA Directory will guide you through.
Nikkei Telecom 21 日経テレコム21 (UHM Only)
Click on jinji icon人事検索 Allows you to search personnel rotation & biographical information on people in business/industry.
Researchmap
Provides profiles and research subjects of researchers in Japan registered in this system launched by the National Institute of Informatics.
Yomidas Rekishikan (ヨミダス歴史館) online database (UHM Only)
Gendai Jinmeiroku 現代人名録 provides experts in various areas, who were reported at least twice on the Yomiuri Shinbun.

Study in Japan

Learning Japan's society, culture, manners, etc.

Japan National Tourism Organization
Official guide to Japan including interesting spots to visit, monthly magazines featuring culture, etc.
Japan Video Topics
Videos on everything about Japan: society, customs, manners, and more. Developed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
Japan Video Topics: English summary
English summary of each video
Niponica にぽにか
Free magazine featured Japanese culture by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of japan