Japan Studies Collection: Biographical Information

• Art
• Biographical Information
• Gender/Women's Studies
• Geography
• History
• Japanese Literature
• Religion

• Advertiser & Star Bulletin (Hawaii local newspapers) Biography Morgue Index
  Biographical articles in microfiche @ Hamilton Library Microfilm Room. Search by last name.

• Bibliography of Biographical information on people from Ishikawa Prefecture
  Can search by "AIUEO" order of a person's last name.

• NDL Catalog of Japanese Political figures after Meiji/近現代日本政治関係人物文献目録
  Book catalog for getting information on Japanese political figures after Meiji
   
• Nihon jinmei joho sakuin 日本人名情報索引 Provides information which publication(s) contain information of a person you are looking for. 
   
• 皓星社データベース Koseisha/人物情報
  it provides who is in which volume of the Nihon Jinbutsu Joho Taikei 日本人物情報大系 The UHM Library does not hold this series, however, you can request a relevant volume via the ILL service. (ILL Form)

• Portraits of Modern Japanese Historical Figures ( English / Japanese )
  The NDL site provides two hundred statesmen, government officials, military officers, businessmen, and others who had an impact on building modern Japanese society. Can search by category and Japanese alphabetical order.

• Tokyo Daigaku Shiryo Hensanjo Database/東京大学史料編纂所
  Scroll down to "databases" Needs to log in (free). Click on "肖像情報データベース."

• Kamon World/家紋
  WorldMany images of Japanese family crests and brief descriptions

Online Database Through UHM Library
(Valid UHM username and password are required)

• Japan Knowledge  
  Nihon Jinmei Daijiten 日本人名大辞典 (65,000+ from the  Kojiki, Nihon Shoki to the present. , JK Who's Who (the people in the spotlight in every field. daily updated news on the people).
  

• Kikuzo II Asahi Shinbun/聞蔵II 朝日新聞 Jinbutsu Database/人物データベース
  Includes researchers, business people, writers, actors/actresses, athletes, politicians, etc.

• Nikkei Telecom 21/日経テレコン21
  Click on 人事検索.  It allows you to search personnel rotation & biographical information on people in business/industry. 

• Yomidas Rekishikan/ヨミダス歴史館
  Gendai Jinmeiroku 現代人名録 provides experts in various areas, who were reported at least twice on the Yomiuri Shinbun.

Other Useful Websites

• Kingendai Nihon Seiji Kakei Jinbutsu Databse 近現代日本政治関係人物データベース provided by NDL Search by name
• Hyakkan Rireki 百官履歴 NDL Digital collection. Covers 500 government officials in positions from December 1867 to 1881.Search by place of birth, position, etc.  慶応3(1867)年12月から明治14(1881)年までの間に高官になった500名の履歴書を編集した資料です。出身地、身分、通称、官途進退等を調べることができます。
• Japanese American in Hawaii internees' database via JCCH: Searchable directory of those of Japanese ancestry who were arrested and confined in the Territory of Hawai‘i during World War II. 
• Jinji Koshinroku 人事興信録 1903-1911 明治36－44年 UHM Library holds 1966-2009
• Nihon Shinshiroku 日本紳士録 1889 明治22年版 UHM Library holds 1932, 1939, 1988-
• Nihon Jinmei Joho Sakuin Database 日本人名情報索引データベース provided by NDL. Search by keyword.

• Kindai Bungaku Kenkyu Sosho Index/近代文学研究叢書
  Each volume provides extensive biographical information. Check the index to locate which volume contains a person that you look for.
• Koto Bank/コトバンク Includes name and biographical dictionaries of 5 popular following online dictionaries: デジタル版日本人名大辞典Plus、朝日日本史人物事典、美術人名辞典、タレントデータバンク、江戸・東京人物辞典
•  Aozora Bunko sakkabetsu sakuhin risuto/青空文庫作家別作品リスト
  Provides "yomi," birth/death dates, biographical descriptions of selected writers. Keep clicking until "Sakkabetsu Sakuhin Risuto."
• Chosakuken no shometsushita sakka risuto/著作権が消滅した作家リスト
  List of writers, whose copyrights have been expired. Provides the list of names and birth/death dates.

• Dead Writers Society/死せる作家の会
  Provides birth/death dates of deceased writers, whose copyrights are still valid.

• Japanese Graphic Designers List/日本グラフィックデザイナーの読み方
  How to read graphic designers' names, who belong to the Japan Graphic Designers Association, Inc.

• Heian Jinbutsu shi/平安人物志 (English / Japanese)
  Nichibunken's database offers a Who's Who of Kyoto in the Edo period. It brings together information on literati and connoisseurs of various arts from all parts of the city and its environs.

• Members of the Japan Reprographic Rights Center/日本複写権センター
  How to read the JRRC members' names.

• Jinmei Jiten/人名辞典
  Brief biographical information from various jinmei jiten (the deceased persons only).

• Onyaku Yomikata 音訳よみかた
  How to read many items in various fields including people in medicine from Nara and Meiji periods, etc.

• Kinsei Kijinden: sei, zoku/近世畸人伝 正・続 (English / Japanese)
  Nichibunken's database provides digitized full text and prints of Kinsei kijinden biographical information of people during the Tokugawa (Edo) period.  Also printed version is available at UHM Library (Sei / Zoku)

• Shibusawa Ei'ichi Denki Shiryo/渋沢栄一伝記資料
  Biographical information of Ei'ichi Shibusawa

• Writers from Japan (English)
  Collection of English language sites of Japanese women writers.

Printed Version

• Kokushi Daiiiten/国史大辞典  Also via Japan Knowledge (UHM Only)
  One of the largest encyclopedias of Japanese history.  It encompasses every aspect of Japan's history and includes entries in related fields such as archaeology, folklore, religion, art, Japanese language, Japanese literature and geography.