Japan Studies Collection: Finding Articles

Online Indexes for Japanese journals

• Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei Database/皓星社雑誌記事索引集成データベース (UHM Only) 
  Japanese periodical and magazine index from the Meiji to the present. Can cross search in CiNii, NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (see below).  See also the Getting the Most of Koseisha Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei

• Web-Oya Bunko database 大宅壮一文庫雑誌記事索引検索ウェブ版 (UHM Only)
  A citation index for the Oya Soichi Bunko popular magazine collections. It covers from Meiji period to the present. Currently the database contains over 4.5 million magazine articles, many of which are not indexed by other Japanese databases. 明治～現在まで Also see the Oya Soichi Bunko Home Page for more information about Oya Soich & his collections

• CiNii : Citation Information by NII/NII 論文情報ナビゲータ
  Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo (大学紀要）are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats.  See also the Getting the Most of CiNii Articles Database

• Zasshi Kiji Sakuin/雑誌記事索引
  Journal indexes from 1948 to present developed by the National Diet Library. List of journals indexed in the NDL Zasshi Kiki Sakuin database.  See also the Getting the Most of Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Guide

Databases including full-text Japanese magazines/journal articles

• Asahi Shinbun Kikuzo II/朝日新聞聞蔵II (UHM Only) 
  In additon to full-texts of the Asahi Newspaper from 1879 to present, includes Aera アエラ (monthly magazine), Shukan Asahi 週刊朝日 from 1984 to present. Also it includes Chiezo 知恵蔵 current issue.
   
• JAIRO  (Japanese / English) Japanese Institutional Repositories Online.
  It enables you to search all the institutional repositories sites in Japan. 
   
• Japan Knowledge/ジャパンナレッジプラス (UHM Only) 
  
  
  Includes Kaisha Shikiho 会社四季報 (latest 2 years), Shukan Ekonomisuto 週刊エコノミスト, and more.
   
• J-STAGE (Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator Electronic Journals)/科学技術情報発信・流通総合システム ( Japanese / English )
   
• 占領期新聞・雑誌情報データベース The Institute of 20th Century site
  As of April 2014, free access is no longer available due to the Institute of 20th Century business policy. Prange Collection University of Maryland. Title level search via the National Diet Library. The most comprehensive collection in the world of print publications issued in Japan during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945-1949.

Other helpful sites

• NDL Search 国会図書館サーチ　
  Full-text and federated search site for 200+ databases List of databases

• CiNii : Academic Society Journals and Research Bulletins List

• Nihon no Bijutsu 日本の美術 
  Titles of each issue created by National Museum of Modern Art in Tokyo

Online Database Through UHM Library
(Valid UHM username and password are required)

Link to UHM Library Journal Search via Primo <https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/jsearch?vid=01UHAWAII_MANOA:MANOA>

• ABI/Inform Global
  The premier business and management database providing extensive coverage of North America and the world.

• Academic Search Complete
  Provides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

• Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
  Bibliography of Asian Studies database published since 1971.

• Cambridge Journal Online
  Includes the most recent Journal of Asian Studies.

• Digital Dissertations
  Proquest digital dissertation database. Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and masters work of authors from 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts, and from 1997 on full-text is available for over 100,000 titles deposited with UMI.
   
• JStor
  Comprehensive archives of important scholarly journal literature.  Before using this database, check JStor YouTube Tutorial developed by Sinclair Library
   
• Nexis Uni
  Full text newspapers and magazines including the Japan Times, The Japan News, The Nikkei Weekly.

• MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
  The electronic version of the MLA Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals.

• Project Muse
  Full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. Links to JStor.

Othe Helpful Online Search Tools

• Education About Asia
  Association for Asia Studies (AAS) Education About Asia (EAA) access. Free Registration is required to access approximately 900 articles from all thirty-seven back issues of Education About Asia from 1996–2008! Browse or search Tables of Contents.
   
• Google Scholar
  Search the entire open access articles/books and UHM Only databases. Make sure you have set up your preference to the UHM Library.
  Search to retrieve reports, articles, and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple databases of the US Government.

Titles, ISSNs, URLs for Japan's online journals (Excel file:328KB) complied by the National Diet Library

Cannot find journals in UH that contain articles that you are looking for?

• ILL Request Form 
  • for items not at UH
• ILL FAQs
• Tips for ILL Services with Japan

As of Nov. 23, 2011, UHM Library and the University of the Ryukyus Library entered a special agreement to free receprocated ILL/DD transactions for items only available from each library holdings (borrowable materials only). This pilot project will end and be reviewed after five years.