Japan Studies Collection: Gov Info/Statistics

Japanese Constitutions 日本国憲法

• Constitution of Japan 日本国憲法
• Constitution of the Emperor of Japan 大日本帝国憲法
• Documents relevant to the Constitution of Japan
• Archival documents relevant to the Constitution of Japan
• Constitutional revision chronology 1868-present
• Gordon Prange Collection at the University of Maryland

Japanese Laws 法令

• National Diet Library's advanced search engine for Japanese laws, bills, and regulations 法令検索 Laws between 1867-1886 are linked to images
• Japanese lawmaking process English language site
• Japanese Law Translation research guide developed by the UHM School of Law Library

Cabinet and Agencies 政府機関

• E-Gov Japanese government information locator portal site
• National Diet Library Digital Collections (Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan dejitaru korekushon)
  A variety of resources, including born-digital government documents, digitized and collected by the National Diet Library. Searchable.
• Search the index of the Federal Register 官報目次検索
• Internet version of the Federal Register インターネット版官報
• Prime Minister of Japan and His Cabinet (top page) 官邸トップページ
  includes links to each cabinet, agencies, and information on former Prime Ministers
• Local government information locator 全国自治体

Information on Japan's Diet 議会関係

• Search engine of the Diet meeting reports 国会会議録検索システム
  Includes full text reports.
• Search engine of the Japan's Imperial Parliament 帝國議会議事録検索システム
• House of Representatives 衆議院
• House of Councillors 参議院

There are many publications on Japan from the US Government. The UHM Library is a regional federal depository of such documents. Make sure check the Library's Government Document Department site to learn more.

Selected sites to provide full-texts online

• Govinfo- Official U.S. government portal for core documents from all branches of government. Coverage varies by resource
• USA.gov - Official U.S. Government web portal and search engine
• Census Data - U.S. Census data site.
• Congress.Gov - Search for the status and text of bills, laws, and other Congressional information through the Library of Congress
• Internet Archives - Searchable database of US Gov't documents

• Portal site for Municipal/local government statistics (Links)
• Zenkoku jichitai mappu kensaku (全国自治体マップ検索) Municipal government search by location map
• Tokyo Metropolitan Government