Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Asahi Shinbun Historical Photo Archive (UHM Only)
A database of 10,000+ news photos (within the Kikuzo II Visual commercial database) taken by Asahi journalists during the World War II period.
Doing Photography and Social Science in the Allied Occupation of Japan, 1948-1951
Photographs taken by anthropologist John W. Bennett in occupied Japan, 1948-1951, with comments on the photos by Bennett. Also included are extensive selections from Bennett's professional journal of the period, and other documents.
Japan Air Raids
Information about US Army Air Force raids against Japan during and post WWII. Includes interviews, primary documents, photos, moving images, sound recordings, etc.
Japanese Old Photographs of the Bakumatsu Meiji Period
7,000+ photos taken all over Japan from the Bakumatsu (1868) through to the Meiji period
Mainichi Newspaper's photo archives. Free search. Fees are required to use photos.
Meiji and Taisho Era Photograhs
The photographs taken from the albums and photo books held by the NDL. Searchable by locations, category and keyword.
Portraits of Modern Japanese Historical Figures
Photographs of approximately 350 statesmen, government officials, military officers, businessmen, scholars and artists, who had an impact on building modern Japanese society.
Yomiuri Hochi Shashinkan/よみうり報知写真館
Yomiuri Newspaper photo archives. Searchable. Free viewing. Required to pay fees to use photos.
Japanese Visual Resources at UH
The UHM Japan Collection provides nearly 2,000 freely accessible images on Japan.
NDL Historical Sounds/国立国会図書館デジタル化資料歴史的音源 (alternative link http://rekion.dl.ndl.go.jp/)
- Historical sounds including music, rakugo, talks, etc. from 1900s to 1950s. Can search the entire collections.
What is included?
Rakugo, traditional music and songs, Japanese instrumental music (such as a guitar, koto, shakuhachi, musical plays, Joruri, Naniwabushi, popular music, jazz), lectures, speeches, and more. The main sources are NHK, Japan Columbia Records, Victor Entertainment Company, Kings Recording, Teichiku Entertainment, Universal Music, EMI Music Japan, etc.
- The picture, , indicates that it is available online. The others can be accessible onsite.
- PTNA Piano Encyclopedia: Database of piano music over 70,000 categories of piano music and composers. Some live performance videos are included.
Nichibunken's Rokyoku (Naniwabushi) Archives 浪曲SPレコードデジタルアーカイブ by 日文研 Searchable database of approximately 10,000 standard-playing (SP) records of traditional narrative storytelling covering the period from the beginning to the middle of the twentieth century.
Copyright & Permission Requests
Other Useful Links
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.Includes many Japanese arts.
Hawaii Japanese American History (video presentation)
Great overview of the Japanese American in Hawaii presented by Hawaii DOE
Hawaii Oral History Database
Developed by the UHM Center for Oral History. The Center preserves the recollections of Hawai‘i’s people through oral interviews and disseminates oral history transcripts to researchers, students, and the general community.
Images of East Asia
This open-access digital archive consists of postcards, photographic negatives, rare books, karuta, and Kodachrome slides of Taiwan, Manchukuo, China, Korea, the South Seas Islands, Karafuto and Indonesia created by Lafayette College.
Japan's Copyright Laws via Agency for Cultural Affairs (Japanese)
Information, practices, seminars, and symposiums, etc. regarding Japan's copyright issues. Provided by the regulatory agency.
NHK Image Bank via Getty Images
View sample HNK videos via Getty Images. Purchase options are available.
Union Catalogs of the National Museums in Japan
Search collection catalogs among the National museums in Japan
Visualizing Culture (MIT)
Images and scholarly commentary to illuminate social and cultural history. developed by MIT Professors John Dower and Shigeru Miyagawa
Zeppan Managa Library 絶版マンガ図書館
Need to make a free registration. Registration Page
Official site from which you can download out-of-print manga at free of charge. The site intention is to prevent piracy of Japanese manga.
- MangaPedia マンガペディア Online encyclopedia featuring comics: Although it has “login” button, users are not required to login. The articles are written by researchers and journalists specialized with manga,