Research Guides: Japan Studies Collection: History

Subject Index

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Kokushi Daiiiten/国史大辞典
Printed version and online version via JapanKnowlegde (UHM Only)are available
One of the largest encyclopedias of Japanese history. It encompasses every aspect of Japan's history and includes entries in related fields such as archaeology, folklore, religion, art, Japanese language, Japanese literature and geography.

Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei/日本歴史地名大系 via Japan Knowledge (UHM Only)
Encyclopedia of Japanese Historical Place Names. Categorizing 20,000 entries which encompass all of the prefectures of Japan plus Kyoto City, edited to reflect recent changes such as municipal mergers and changes in place names. It also contains some archeological 500 notes reflecting the latest research.

Images/Photos

Asahi Shinbun Rekishi Shashin Archive/ 朝日新聞歴史写真アーカイブ
Via Kikuzo II/聞蔵II database (UHM only)
East Asia Image Collections Images of China, Japan, & Korea during 1930s and 1940s. Searchable.
Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period/長崎大学図書館幕末明治期日本古写真メタデータベース Provided by Nagasaki University Library
Foreign Office Files for Japan 1919-1952 UHM Only Include many photos and maps. The collection contains extensive coverage of FO/262 – Foreign Office and Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Embassy and Consulates, Japan: General Correspondence, as well as FO/371 – Foreign Office: Political Departments: General Correspondence from 1906-1966 files for Japan, the Far Eastern general sub-series and selected Western and American Department papers.
Mainich Photo Bank/毎日フォトバンク
National Archives of Japan Digital Archives/国立公文書館デジタルアーカイブス Includes historical posters, images, photos
Portraits of Modern Japanese Historical Figures (NDL)/近代日本人の肖像
Yomiuri Shashinkan/読売写真館

Government Sources/政府史料

アメリカ外交文書の調べ方 How to search documents on US foreign policies by National Diet Library (Japanese)
Basic Documents of Modern and Contemporary International Politics prepared by Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia (IASA), The University of Tokyo
Film footages of Occupation of Japan recorded by the US Occupation Forces UHM Only
Foreign Office Files for Japan 1919-1952 UHM Only The collection contains extensive coverage of FO/262 – Foreign Office and Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Embassy and Consulates, Japan: General Correspondence, as well as FO/371 – Foreign Office: Political Departments: General Correspondence from 1906-1966 files for Japan, the Far Eastern general sub-series and selected Western and American Department papers.
National Archives of Japan/国立公文書館
National Archives of Japan (Kobunshokan) digital archives/国立公文書館デジタルアーカイブス
Includes Dajo ruiten/太政類典
National Diet Library's US Occupation Materials/国立国会図書館日本占領関係資料
Approx. 17,000 digitized items from the Occupation period.
National Archives of Japan Digital Archives 歴史公文書館デジタルアーカイブズサイト
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR)/国立公文書館アジア歴史資料センター　
- JACAR Glossary アジ歴グロッサリー How to find resources by themes & related keywords
戦史叢書検索オンライン閲覧サイト National Institute of Defense Studies' searchable database for documents and records of WWII
The Digital Archive of the Documents on Japanese Foreign Policy (Nihon Gaiko Bunsho from 1867 to 1926)/外務省編纂日本外交文書
Japanese War Crimes: Resources for Researchers
The Nazi War Crimes and Japanese Imperial Government Records Interagency Working Group (IWG).　
Tsuko Ichiran 1940 reprints/1940年版復刻通航一覧 Provided by Kindai Digital Library

Others Usful Sources

Asian Bills at Kyoto University 1980-1986 Digital site
Agitation bills collected at Kyoto University between 1980-1986 digital site.
Bibliography of Japanese History up to 1912 complied and updated by Dr. Peter Kornicki at Cambridge University
Cross Currents Explores the rich, ongoing relationship between the U.S. and Japan over the past fifty years.
Database of Old Diaries in the Heian Period
Created by the International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Nichibunken 日文研). The database is created in kundoku (“Japanese” or explanation reading) of the full texts of old diaries, etc. written in the mid-Heian period
Hyakugo Archives Database 東寺百語文書データベース
Toji Hyakugo Monjo refers to a collection of medieval Japanese documents originally preserved at Toji, a Buddhist temple in Kyoto. The huge collection comprises nearly 25,000 documents spanning roughly 1,000 years, from the 8th to 18th centuries. The bulk of the collection dates from the 14th and 15th centuries.
Japan Institute of International Affairs/日本国際問題研究所 A downloadable pdf file of the latest issue is available online until the next issue is published. Those who need to access to back issues of "Kokusai Mondai" have to become a member of the organization. Please see the member application at<http://www2.jiia.or.jp/MEMB/>
The Japanese Historical Text Initiative (JHTI)
A database made up of historical texts dating back more than 1200 years. The original version of every paragraph in every text is cross-tagged with its English translation, making it possible for any researcher to see, on the same screen, both the original and English translation of any word or phrase appearing in any JHTI text.
『鎌倉遺文古文書編 (Kamakura Ibun Komonjo-hen)』is now available via Japan Knowledge e-book
Kamakura Ibun (Collection of Historical Materials of the Kamakura Period, 1185-1333) contains over 36,000 texts in 42 volumes with 4 supplements and 3 volumes of Toji Temple documents.
The Institute of 20th Century site/占領期新聞・雑誌情報データベース
Prange Collection University of Maryland. Title level search via the National Diet Library. The most comprehensive collection in the world of print publications issued in Japan during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945-1949.
Museum of Memories on the Battlefields WWII 戦場体験史料館 Operated by Japan Veterans Video Archive Project (JVVAP).
National Institute for the Humanities 人間文化研究機構データベース
Federated search of many databases developed by 5 institutions (more that 180 databases)
Database of materials on Japanese political figures after Meiji (NDL)/近現代日本政治関係人物文献目録
The Historiographical Institute The University of Tokyo/東京大学史料編纂所
Toa Dobun Shoin Toa Dobunkai Zasshi Kiji database /東亜同文書院・東亜同文会雑誌記事データベース