Japan Studies Collection: Shashi: Organization Histories

Organization Names A-Z

Click one of the alphabets below.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Lists by Industry Type

UHM Shashi Collection Overview

Shashi 社史 typically refers to publications that provide company histories--usually published by the companies themselves. However, Shashi in the UH Japan Collection has been broadened beyond the traditional business disciplines to include the histories of organizations such as colleges and universities, trade associations, unions, and so forth. Most of the shashi publications are not for sale, meaning they are unavailable through the usual distribution system in Japan. The UH Japan Collection makes direct requests upon companies and organizations and most of these publications were generously donated by these institutions.

Access to the UHM Shashi Collection

This site provides a bibliography of the Shashi collection at the UH Japan Collection. The site is browsable by institution and industry type. All Information is in Japanese except romanized institution names.

Alphabetical Lists (by romanized institution names)

Lists by Industry Type

North American Shashi Interest Group

• Shashi Wiki
  Searchable in both English and Japanese. For some titles, images of cover and table of contents can be viewed.　
• Shashi Interest Group activity archives 2001-2006
  Contains meeting minutes, AAS panel (2005)

Shashi collection in other institutions

• Shibusawa Shashi Database 渋沢社史データベース
  Searchable database of the Shibusawa Ei'ichi Foundation's shashi collections.　
• Kawasaki Toshokan shozo korekushon to kensaku/川崎図書館社史コレクション検索
  Includes searchable database for more than 12,000 shashi titles. Japanese only.　
• Shashi Bibliographies　(University of Kansas, East Asian Library)　A list of shashi collection held by the library.
• Shozo shashi mokuroku
  (Kigyo Joho Bunseki Shiryoshitsu, Research Institute for Economics & Business Administration, Kobe University)神戸大学所蔵社史目録
  Bibliographic information of company histories held by the shiryoshitsu can be viewed by industry type and Japanese alphabetical order. Also includes some non-Japanese companies. Japanese only.

Shashi Research Guides

• Sharaku/社楽
  A shashi guide created by Kawasaki Prefectural Library
• Annotated List of Shashi An annotated introduction to the shashi (listed by company) prepared by the Shibusawa Eiichi Memorial Foundation's Shashi project. (Japanese only)
• Kokkai Toshokan Temabetsu Shirabekata: Shashi, Keizai Dantaishi 国会図書館テーマ別調べ方「社史、団体史（誌）」A how-to-guide to do research on Shashi.