Research Guides: Japan Studies Collection: Japan Special Collections

Access Policy

Other Special Collections

Special Collections in Japan 全国特殊コレクション
The link list to special collections in Japan, developed by the National Diet Library (NDL)
Directory of Special Collections in North America
北米日本古典籍所蔵機関ディレクトリ This directory provides information on libraries and museums in North America that hold old and rare Japanese materials, including manuscripts, printed books, and single sheet items, such as maps and ukiyoe prints.
Overseas Japanese Antiquarian Materials Study Group (OJAMSG)
Provides a directory of institutions in Europe & North America, which hold special collections (Archived Pages ONLY)

UHM Japan Collection holds many special or rare materials. Most of them are not cataloged and not circulated. There are web-based finding aids for researchers to request specific items for their research. Click the link provided below. Please read the access policy (ENG / JPN) and make appointments at least two weeks in advance. Due to staff shortage, you may be asked to reschedule your visits.

Location
All special collections listed below are located in the Asia Locked Press Room, 4th Floor of Hamilton Library. Access is by appointment only.

UHM Japan Special Collections

Bell Historical Postcard Collection over 300 postcards, bromides, and prints that were created before WWII. Most of the postcards were created in Japan along with some made in Hawai'i, China, and Taiwan (Formosa).
Emery D. Middleton Collection over 600 of his black & white photos, along with several historical postcards and documents he collected. The digital images are mainly photos and postcards taken during his service as an officer in the Allied Occupation of Japan from 1945 to 1947.
Hawaii Japanese Language School Textbooks Collection
LibGuide Site ハワイ日本語学校教科書コレクション
Over 600 Japanese language school textbooks used in Hawaii
John Roberts Clippings Clippings on a wide range of political and economic topics concerning Japan collected by a journalist
Kaizawa Kabuki Manuscripts (1) English translations of famous Kabuki plays during the Allied Occupation period. As part of the US censorship on Japanese publishing and performing arts, all Kakubi play manuscripts were translated into English for censorship. (2) Interview transcripts between Stanley Kaizawa and Dr. James Brandon, UHM Theatre & Dance, conducted 2000-2003 for Dr. Brandon's Kabuki Censorship Research. Mr. Stanley Kaizawa, a Japanese American Nisei from Hawaii, was a member of the censorship team and worked as a censor from 1945-1949 at GHQ Tokyo, Japan.
Kajiyama Collection 梶山文庫
Over 7,000 materials collected by the late novelist Toshiyuki Kajiyama 梶山季之
Oliver Statler Collection オリバー・スタットラーコレクション Access via the Archives Department archives@hawaii.edu, or 808.956.6047
Oliver Statler's archival materials
Oral History of Japanese Studies Scholars 1960s to 1980s
Interview DVDs of Japanese studies scholars conducted by Dr. George Akita, Professor Emeritus of the UHM History Department.
Satsuma Collection 薩摩コレクション
Nealy 800 photo copies of late Professor of Kagoshima University Haraguchi Torao's 原口虎雄 (1914-1986) manuscripts of primary source materials on Satsuma/Shimazu domain. Prof. Haraguchi's so called "Dokosanbo (童虎山房)" collection was donated to the Amami Museum in 2006.
Takazawa Collection 高沢文庫
Over 75,000 books and archival materials on Japan's social movements donated by Koji Takazawa