Japan Studies Collection: Encyclopedias

Wa-Kan Sansai Zue/和漢三才図会

Wa-kan Sansai Zue (illustrated Sino-Japanese encyclopedia) describes and illustrates various activities of daily life, such as carpentry and fishing, as well as plants and animals, and constellations.

• Printed version (Library use only)
• CD-ROM version (Asia Reading Room use only)
• Digitized version vol.1, vol.2, and vol.3.　Published in 1888
• Modern Japanese language translation version access through Japan Knowledge (UHM Only)
  Toyo Bunko (東洋文庫) 
  
  

Koji Ruien/古事類苑

An encyclopedic index of objects, events, and institutions appearing in classical literature. Based on the model of the Chinese encyclopedias. The work is divided into 30 broad categories. Each category has an introductory essay and relevant primary and early secondary documents.

• Printed version (Library use only)
• Digitized version　Digital Library from the Meiji Era (from the National Diet Library)
• Online Databases
  • Koji Ruien access through JapanKnowledge Lib (UHM Only)
  • Koji Ruien database by Nichibunken
  • Koji Ruien database by Kokubunken (国文学研究資料館)
• Koji Ruien Shinkana Sakuin/古事類苑新仮名索引

Also see the corresponding volume numbers of the UHM Library 古事類苑 in the box below.

UHM Library Koji Ruien Volume Numbers

Online Version

• Nipponica 日本大百科全書 (UHM Only) access through JapanKnowledge
  Includes approximately 130,000 entries and 700,000 index words and is regularly updated and revised.

• Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei 日本歴史地名大系 (UHM Only) access through JapanKnowledge
  Encyclopedia of Japanese historical place names. Some 20,000 entries are categorized, encompassing all of the prefectures of Japan plus Kyoto City, edited to reflect recent changes such as municipal mergers and changes in place names. It also contains some 500 archeological notes reflecting the latest research.

Printed/Online Versions

• Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan 
  Printed version and online version is available through JapanKnowledge
• Kokushi Daijiten/国史大辞典
  Printed version and online version via JapanKnowledge are available
  One of the largest encyclopedias of Japanese history.  It encompasses every aspect of Japan's history and includes entries in related fields such as archaeology, folklore, religion, art, Japanese language, Japanese literature and geography.

Printed Versions

• Japan: an Illustrated Encyclopedia
  Shorter version of Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
• Sekai Dai Hyakka Jiten/世界大百科事典 ​
• Heibonsha Dai Hyakka Jiten/平凡社大百科事典

These are community developed web encyclopedias. Many people can edit anytime. Make sure to verify the information by consulting other sources before citing.