Japan Studies Collection: Art

• Art
• Biographical Information
• Gender/Women's Studies
• Geography
• History
• Japanese Literature
• Religion

• Japanese Architecture and Art Historical Terminology Online Dictionary (JAANUS)
  Searchable online dictionary of historical terminology including Japaense book parts and binding. 
• Shibunkaku Artist database/思文閣美術人名検索
• Japanese art thesaurus Database/日本美術シソーラスデータベース
  Provided by Tsukuba University

Ukiyo-e

• Ukiyoe jiten/浮世絵事典 
• Ukiyoe daijiten/浮世絵大事典 
• Genshoku ukiyoe dai hyakka jiten/原色浮世絵大百科事典
• Zusetsu ukiyoe nyumon/図説浮世絵入門
• Hiroshige to arukoTokaido gojusantsugi/広重と歩こう東海道五十三次 
• The Hotei encyclopedia of Japanese woodblock prints

Nihon Bijutsu Sakuhin Refarensu Jiten Series/日本美術作品レファレンス事典

• Senshi kodai bijutsu/先史古代美術 
• Kenzobutsu hen/建造物編
• Shoseki hen/書跡編
• Tojiki hen/陶磁器編 
• Kaiga hen/絵画編

Others

• Genshoku zuten Nihon bijutsushi nenpyo/原色図典日本美術史年表 
• Biographical dictionary of Japanese art
• A dictionary of Japanese artists : painting, sculpture, ceramics, prints, lacquer
• Bukkyo bijutsu jiten/仏教美術事典

Catalogs

• NCC Japan Art Catalog Project via the Sackler/Freer Gallary
  Contains Japanese exhibits catalogs through the Exchange Program (JAC) between the NCC and the National Art Center.
• Honolulu Museum of Art Library Online Catalog search Opening Hours: Wednesdays, 10am-4pm, and by appointment
• Art Libraries' Consortium/美術図書館横断検索 Search for holding items in the folloing major art museum libraries: 東京国立近代美術館、国立新美術館、東京都現代美術館、横浜美術館、国立西洋美術館,東京都写真美術館,東京国立博物館,江戸東京博物館,神奈川県立近代美術館
• Tobunken-Sainsbury Institute Research Collection Database 研究資料データベース a project between the Sainsbury Institute (SISJAC) and the National Research Institute for Cultural Properties, Tokyo (Tobunken).
• Union Catalogs of the National Museums/独立行政法人国立美術館・所蔵作品検索
  Search for holdings in the following museums: 東京国立近代美術館,京都国立近代美術館,国立西洋美術館,国立国際美術館
• Links to major temples/宗派別全国寺院リンク
  Need to check individual temples for their art works.
• Catalogue of Japanese Japanese Manuscripts and Rare Books This catalogue explores the entire collection of early Japanese woodblock-printed books, maps and single-sheet prints held in the Royal Library, Copenhagen, these appearing for the first time in print. The collection spans the whole of the Edo period (1603–1867). 

Searching for Exhibit Catalogs & Information

• A portal site for search engines related to Art catalogs in Tokyo by the University of Tokyo 東京で展覧会カタログを探すには？
• Exhibit records in Japan/日本の美術展覧会記録(1945-2005)
  国立新美術館 National Art Center, Tokyo
• National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo/東京近代美術館 (1952-2010)
• Tobunken exhibit catalog search/展覧会カタログ検索, 東京文化財研究所
  National Research Institute of Cultural Properties Tokyo
• Art Access
  Able to search exhibits and artists
• Museum-net
• Links to small local museums
• Artscape Provides exhibit information and links to museum HPs

Searching for Artists

• Bukkosha infromation/物故者情報検索

Historical art chrononogy

• Tobunken Digital Archives, including digitized art catalogs, Privided by the National Research Institute for Cultural Properties/東京文化財研究所

• ARTstor Online Database (UHM Only)
  A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.Includes many Japanese arts.
• Art Image Database 
• Created by Duke University. Provides web sites that contain images.
• Bunka Geino Database/文化芸能データベース (Japan Arts Council)
  Searchable databases for images, catalogs of Japanese performing arts
  Bunkazai Online/文化財オンライン Japan's Agency of Cultural Affairs' database via NII. A searchable database of images of cultural objects (Japanese only)
• Databases for Art publications
• Provided by the Tokyo University Museum. It allows to browse the table of contents of the following art journals: Hosun/方寸、Gendai no yoga/現代の洋画（1-27）、Bijutsuen/美術園（1-13)、Toyo bijutsu/東洋美術（1-20）、Mizue/みづゑ（no.1 Julｰ250 Dec）
• e-Museum/e国宝 Provides Images of National treasures
• The History and Art of Woodblock Printing Provides easy readings on the history of woodblock printing and additional resource sites (courtesy of the suggestion by a young artist, Hailey, at the Kellytown Reading Groups)
• Kinsei Enpon Database 近世艶本データベース By the Art Center of Ritsumeikan University. A searchable database of Enpon held domestically and Internationally. 近世期に制作された艶本の所在情報、書誌情報を検索できるようにしたものです。日本国内外の研究機関・博物館・図書館や個人コレクターなどが所蔵する資料を対象としています。本データベースでは、随時情報を追加・更新していきます。
• Nihon no Bijutsu/日本の美術
  Translation of titles of each issue created by Ohio State University
• Nihon no Bijutsu/日本の美術
  Index by art category/ 分野別論文等目録 by Shunjudo Bunko 春秋堂文庫
• Oral History Archives for Japanese Art 日本美術オーラル・ヒストリー・アーカイブ
• The University Museum, The University of Tokyo/東京大学総合研究博物館
  Databases for publications of The University of Tokyo: Online versions of the University Museum publications
• Ukiyoe search 浮世絵検索 Can search various sites for Ukiyoe
• Ukiyoe image site from the Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts
  Approxmately 600 Japanese prints from the 18th and 19th centuries from its Prints and Drawings collection